We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner, great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Symposium Cafe Restaurant and Lounge

Symposium Cafe Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #3 of 10 Dessert in Waterloo
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dine at this Symposium Café Waterloo restaurant located at the historic Waterloo hotel directly at Uptown Waterloo. This Symposium Café Restaurant location is conveniently located on King and Erb, and is open 7 days a week, early mornings and late nights for your restaurant dining pleasure. This Waterloo Symposium Café Restaurant seats 120 indoors and over 70 seats in a scenic patio, and has a private 40 seat private room. We specialize in large group settings and can accommodate last minute functions fairly easily.Hope to see you soon at this Waterloo Symposium Café Restaurant location!• Beautiful Restaurant Décor• Scenic Patio• Private Dining Room Dining• Open Early Mornings• Open Late Nights + Dining Available Until Close Restaurant HoursSunday – Thursday 8am to 1amFriday & Saturday 8am to 2am
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Moving our daughter back to University was long and exhausting. Very tired and hungry we looked for somewhere close to sit and have a nice meal. We were lucky enough to get to Symposium at 5pm and learned that they offer an early bird dinner special. Between 4 and 5:30pm they have a menu with options all for $13.95 I choose the chicken souvlaki dinner. This meal came with two large skewers of chicken, a greek salad and fries. As well, you get your choice of coffee or tea and dessert which was delicious!! My daughter had the salmon special. Grilled salmon with a pesto sauce served over rice and grilled veggies, coffee and dessert as well. A very good value for $13.95 My husband had their burger which he said was also very tasty. This restaurant has specials each night and on Mondays their burger is only $3.75! A very good place to go in Waterloo!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank formykids12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    56
    38
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Generally a good experience, occasionally a letdown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Symposium for breakfast or lunch is usually a reliable choice in Waterloo. The atmosphere of an old-style hotel dining room is appealing; the patio in summer is also comfortable and protected from too much sun or rain. Service, while sometimes slow, is quite acceptable. The food can be somewhat variable from visit to visit. For example, they offer half a dozen variations of Eggs Benedict, most of them very tasty. But occasionally, the poached eggs are overdone (especially when they are very busy). The fresh fruit drinks are a hit. Prices are very fair.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GDP321987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uptown Waterloo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is part of a chain - some pseudo-Renaissance Italian/Greek decor that has nothing to do with the location, food, or drinks. Lots of cakes - some good, some less-so. A variety of specialty coffees, all fairly pricey. Sunday brunch is good with a good choice of items. The staff service is mixed - sometime friendly, sometimes you get a sense you are bothering them even just showing up. The roof-top patio in good weather is pleasant, with good shade (although no view). Service can be slow, but if you go for a leisurely drink or bite, it's okay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToruismDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good hangout place! (specially for Cake lovers)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friends and I have been there so many times ( I really do not know why :D ) . May be good location. The food is ok. I have tried burgers, pasta, spinach dip and etc. They all taste good, nothing extraordinary though. The cakes, some are awesome and some disappointing but what I love is the cake tour !! they have a huge variety of cakes to choose from and you can ask for a cake tour :))) . The mouse cake, banana something and carrot cake were great. I had hazelnut cream or something which was awful , chocolate cake was bad. cheese cakes were ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanazita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lady Manager made birthday memorable ... great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Absolutely wonderful food and service. Too many cakes to choose from though. Professional care was taken at booking to make my 50th a day to remember and everything turned out beautifully. You have 11 customers for life!
Most of us are local, however, the out of towners told me of this site. They depend on it! Stewart treated us well and despite the low turn-out, (25 expected), we had a ball. Thank you. Dave and Jayne. P.S. Love the pitchers!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symposium Cafe Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Symposium Cafe Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing