We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of pasta”

Ennio's Pasta House
Ranked #12 of 372 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great selection of pasta”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Ennio's for many years and I am never disappointed by the food. I love their caesar salad - the dressing is creamy, garlicky and has the right amount of tang to it and the salad isn't overdressed. They used to bring bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil automatically but now it's hit and miss whether they bring that or butter. I love their pastas. I tend to lean towards creamy pastas and during this visit I ordered the mafalda rustica. Ribbon noodles with chicken in a rich gorgonzola cream sauce. It never disappoints. The serving size is large so you will likely take home left overs. The service at Ennio's is also hit and miss. Sometimes they are attentive and friendly, sometimes they are not. I definitely come here for the food, not the service. Overall, I recommend this place for great food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFoodie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    84
    23
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Better than Italian Chain Restaurants”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have been to Ennios a few times as it is a family favorite when I come to Kitchener to visit. We typically have a large group 13+ and service is always good. I would give Ennios 3.5 stars as it is better than your typical 3 star pasta restaurant.

On my most recent visit I ordered the Saffron Mushroom Risotto and my wife ordered the Chicken Alfredo. Both dishes were good and the portions were large. You also get a starter salad which is a good size as well.

Is Ennios my favorite place to eat? No. But I don’t mind eating here from time to time. It is better than going to places like East Side Marios.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cglof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent. ”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent. Food. Excellent service. Great prices. A little bit more than your typical Eastside Marios but the food flavour and quality far exceeded ESM. Would go back in a heartbeat. I had the chicken tetrazzini and loved every bite.

Helpful?
Thank sunlover063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Although they were a little over-priced.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I decided to go visit my best friend in waterloo and she decided that Ennio's would be a good option. Although some of the menus were over-priced, the food was delicious! I ordered a Bolongese, but I should've ordered the Cabonara! The portion for the pasta was pretty good and it tasted great! The Insala and Appetito menu was also a little over-priced, along with the wine selection.

I would definitely come back here again though!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good but wouldnt run back”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I enjoyed my food- caesar salad was one of the best ive had, & the spaghetti w/ meatballs was decent. i also ordered fried calamari to share with my friends and i wish they would have mentioned somewhere on the menu that there was also something spicy inside, because that ruined it for me, and didnt help that our server was slow with the drinks.(and in general)
The atmosphere seems a bit dated, but it was very busy for a tuesday night so that says alot.
Also as good as the pasta was i feel like its a bit over priced, id be happy to pay a bit less and receive a smaller portion (portions are quite large).I'd go back if someone wanted to, but it wouldnt be my first choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ennio's Pasta House also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ennio's Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing