We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little restaurant in Waterloo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red House

Red House
Ranked #3 of 361 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant in Waterloo”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice little restaurant in Waterloo. Only a few tables, but excellent selection of food, wine and beer. Service is very competent and friendly. Ideal place for a wonderful dinner in cosy athmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Comaxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    38
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dinner and ambiance!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went for a family celebration and weren't disappointed with anything!
Great service and each of our meals was very tasty and well plated! Don't usual have dessert but thoroughly enjoyed sharing the lemon dessert and the creme brûlée !
We ate at this restaurant several times a year under previous ownership and find the new chef and owner is maintaining the same good quality food and service! We will definitely be back. It is now my new favorite in Kitchener - Waterloo! !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and worth a visit at least once”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food here was good but nothing to hit home about. We appreciated that it was freshly made and that is key. We ordered the lamb curry and the fish which were both tastefully prepared.

Worth at least one visit if you are residing in the KW region and want a nice dinner date out.

Cheers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I read good things about the Red House so I was looking forward to checking it out. It's a charming little restaurant with a nice decor. They have a neat cocktail menu and a couple of good beers on tap. We started with a good soup and an interesting Caesar salad. So far so good. The main courses were disappointing. The curry special was bland and runny. The pot roast was so salty that it was inedible. What happened? The possibility of a great meal was ruined by poor cooking. This was supposed to be a good restaurant. I want it to be a good restaurant. I hope they get their act together

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Namellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good quality food & drink”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I met a friend for lunch at Red House. Although I have lived in the area for 10 years, I had not visited or heard of Red House before. It turns out I was missing something.
I ordered a basic lunch of a half pint of lager and a caesar salad with grilled chicken. The lager was crisply cold and tasty. Had I not been on a lunch I would have ordered a second.
Of course many restaurants have caesar salad on the menu. However, this one was special. It included fresh bacon pieces, hard-cooked eggs, 'real' grated parmesan and very fresh romaine. The dressing was not over-powering as caesars sometimes are. The grilled chicken was freshly grilled, not cooked some other time and reheated, and the portion size was good. My friend ordered calamari with his salad. The calamari was also fresh and nicely grilled.
The restaurant is in a converted house, with a pleasant atmosphere.
The waitress was very friendly and prompt.
I definitely plan to return to this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy_Lou_Hoo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing