We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need A Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very impressed with the service and the room. The hotel is very attractive with a beautiful pool and breakfast included. Our room was very comfortable and modern. Most importantly the manager Mr. Naushad Ismail was there to greet you in the morning and to assist you in any way that he and his staff are able too. Will definitely book again the next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear 999janice,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors. Our staff was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We have had many guests compliment us on our beds. They are designed by Serta Posturepedic and extremely comfortable for a great night's rest. The choice of soft and firm pillows is a Holiday Inn Express standard and you will be please to know that you will find this at all of our locations Worldwide.

Our indoor saltwater pool is always a guest favourite. Guests appreciate our kids play area with dumping buckets stations. It is ideal for the young and young at heart.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favourite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    83
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
107
68
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the best holiday inn express I have ever stayed in. Location is excellent just off of highway and parking is plentiful. Facilities at the hotel were very modern and pristine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room a great size with comfortable beds.

The restaurant next door, Jacks, is also well worth a visit for a meal while a small outlet mall is just across the road. Best advice however would be to stay when the farmers market is on across the road - it was fantastic.

Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear shutcheson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. It truly gives all of our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

As you mentioned, our excellent location is very convenient for anyone who is visiting Waterloo for a business trip or just looking to do getaway for the weekend. The famous St.Jacobs Market is directly across the street from our hotel and we are just steps to the Outlet Mall, that has some great deals.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff r not trained well..as they took payment for the room on one credit card and said that they would put through $100 incidental on another credit card. They put the whole room fee and $100 thru on the 2nd credit card, also. Very confusing at the time. There were a group of kids playing soccer in the halfway and wen we told them to stop they continued to knock on our room door all nite and running up and down hallways and from floor to floor. Wen I comlpained in the morning the hoteljust said that we should hav called that nite..I told them if we ccalled at that time they would hav known that it was us calling and create more trouble for us. I think that wen u pay 200.00 a nite for a room the hotel should be better managed. Wen we left the owner was upsetting a 71 yr. Old lady at the front desk and actually called the police on her..how disgusting. The woman was complaining about something about paying a deposit and was asking to sit at the desk..they just proceeded to aggravate her..wat a shame. The lady was really shaken up. Too bad about our experience cause the hotel is nice and rooms r clean..its a new hotel.but wont stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear_snowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear bear_snowey,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our brand new hotel.

Our entire team from management to front line staff are very highly focused to enhance the total guest experience. From the the hundreds of guests that we serve on a daily basis, we only hear nothing but great feedback on our hotel and the outstanding service that we deliver. Therefore, we were very disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations. I have sent you a separate message to get in contact with me so that I can personally apologize for any misunderstandings.

We regret that we were unable to exceed your satisfaction during this time, and hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was bright and clean with friendly staff. Stayed in a nice room and must say it was quiet! Could not hear people in the hallway which is a nice change when staying in hotels. Just across the street from the Outlet Mall and the St. Jacob's Farmers Market. The breakfast was nice, although I did find the eggs to be too salty for me. I visit the market every year and will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 575LIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear kenjichan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other travelers.

Our entire staff was delighted to hear that you and your wife greatly enjoyed your stay with us. It always gives us a sense of pride and accomplishments to see so many pleased guests who we think of more as our friends.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We will also review your recommendations and suggestions to enhance our services even further. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I wanted a little getaway for some shopping, we chose the Holiday Inn Express clerk that welcomed us was very cheerful and helpful. Our room was large, airy and above all clean! The bathroom was large clean and had all the little extras to make our visit worry free. We had free Wifi that we had full use of. Our beds were very comfortable and we even had a choice of firm or soft pillows! Our breakfast the next morning was delicious and lots to choose from. The location was perfect as we wanted to shop in the village and the market. One last thing.....the little extra's were a lovely touch, like pads and tampons in the bathroom. Coffee and tea in the lobby at all hours. Thank you for a wonderful stay, will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front 2nd level very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear mollyBarrie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors. Our staff was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

Guest always enjoy our comfortable Serta Posturepedic mattresses. They are designed to provide the perfect sleep experience. The many in room amenities, such as soaps, shampoos, lotions and conditioners are high quality products provided by Bath & Body Works and available at all Holiday Inn hotels worldwide.

Our spacious suites with separate living room and kitchenettes are great for families and provide just the perfect amount of extra space you need to relax and wind down after a long day.

The complimentary Hot Breakfast is always included and a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent compliment to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight for our anniversary - it worked out particularly well as this hotel is right at the St. Jacob's Farmer's Market. Great place to stay - very quiet, terrific staff, and a wonderful breakfast! Also a well-equipped gym which was very nice! This hotel has been built in the last couple of years, so it is in excellent condition!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Gregory_H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with other visitors. Our entire staff was extremely pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Our brand new facility and premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit St.Jacobs to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market.

Many guests also enjoy the local heritage and culture of St.Jacobs that we have incorporated into the hotel. From the Mennonite made furnishings, and custom glass work to the hand stitched quilts and Mennonite artwork presented throughout the hotel. All guests enjoy these unique features and return regularly to getaway from their busy lives.

We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and ensure you that they will be used to further enhance your experience the next time you stay with us. All the best!

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff. We stayed for two nights and had a mini suite which was very comfortable. All amenities including coffee maker, fridge (no freezer) and microwave. Breakfast is adequate for most people and the breakfast area very pleasant. Small swimming pool but no hot tub. The manager said that this is the trend with a lot of the newer hotels.

Only complaint and this goes for most of newer hotels is that I wish they would provide deeper bathtubs. When relaxing on a trip I like to soak in the bath (especially if the do not have a hot tub) and lie the water with my body covered. not possible even with my mere 150lb frame.

Location is excellent for visiting St Jacobs. Hotel is surrounded by Farmers Market, Outlet Mall, St Jacobs Playhouse Theater, Large Antique Outlet and other stores. Few minutes drive and you are in the center of St Jacobs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEGL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear GEGL_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with other visitors. It truly gives all of our staff a sense of pride and accomplishment to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

As you mentioned, our excellent location is very convenient for anyone who is visiting Waterloo for a business trip or just looking to do getaway for the weekend. The famous St.Jacobs Market is directly across the street from our hotel and we are just steps to the Outlet Mall, that has some great deals.

We are always looking for ways to improve. Therefore, your suggestions are greatly appreciated and we will certainly consider them to enhance the total guest experience.

Thank you once again for your review. We wish you the best and look forward to having the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
1.8 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Address: 14 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel will feature a free complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast which is an ideal way to start each day for your group featuring two hot items daily – omelets with cheese or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, and biscuits, plus much more. Our hotel features free outdoor parking available on site and an indoor saltwater pool, with a kid’s play area, available to relax in after a long day. Our 100% smoke free guest rooms are very spacious and feature a small fridge, 42” flat screen TV, coffee maker, microwave, iron & board, in room safe, full cable, and pay per view movies. Each of our guest rooms also feature exclusive Bath & Body Works soaps, shampoos, and lotions.Our hotel is conveniently located directly across from the St. Jacobs Factory Outlet mall and St. Jacobs Farmers Market, which features fresh foods daily. For dining experiences Jack’s Family Restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel, and for other dining experiences our friendly and courteous staff is always excited to help and give great suggestions.Within our hotel we have an extensive fitness area with new cardio and weight training equipment, guest laundry services, and 2 elevators for your convenience. We also have 1200 square feet of meeting space ideal for any corporate function or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing