We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Watami Sushi and Sake Bar - CLOSED

Watami Sushi and Sake Bar
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I tried Watami on a whim after work because I was craving Japanese. The interior is quite nice and the staff are very friendly. I ordered the ramen (which, btw, was served in the biggest bowl ever.. It was definitely worth my money) and my girlfriend ordered a spicy salmon roll. She said she enjoyed it. The final bill came to around $30; not too expensive, but not cheap either. However, the atmosphere alone makes me want to come back. It is very relaxing and I felt very comfortable in their large chairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of our regular favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staff know us by face, name & our favorite selections of sushi & sashimi. We have celebrated birthdays & all occasions with our staple Ginger-Wasabi rolls, Salmon Salad rolls (cucumber wrapped fresh rolls), Spicy Tuna & Rockstar. Numerous sashimi specials were fantastic! Oh & the Ramen -Out of this world yummy! Top quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Ramen and a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our son attends university in Waterloo so we are discovering its restaurants each time we visit. Waterloo being a smaller city, we didn't have the highest expectations for its Japanese food, but we were wrong. The food and the service at Watami were very good. The ramen was well worth the visit, with firm, fresh noodles and a delicious and rich pork broth. A seafood-don side dish was just right, with fresh and tasty sashimi on nicely-cooked rice. I was offered (and declined) a low salt version, but I will certainly try that on our next visit. The sushi was fresh and very good. We were less enthusiastic about the miso soup: we found it a bit thin for our taste. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere, the food is authentic and delicious and the service is very good. We will be back often, I am sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best japanese-style place in K-W”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Not cheap but absolutely amazing. Proper fresh sushi, nicely done (Sooo different to the many studenty places in town) and very innovative food too. The choice of rolls is simply beyond belief. After living some time in Asia we were dying to find a place like this in K-W.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday ramen is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fresh, delicious sushi. Not only that, but Watami Sushi now offers ramen--only available on Sundays. It is fantastic. The soft-set egg and the pork belly in the ramen are excellent. We go as often as we can.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jobrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watami Sushi and Sake Bar also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing