We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah, the student life. An Undergraduate theme park experience.”
Review of Hotel Laurier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laurier
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Macau, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ah, the student life. An Undergraduate theme park experience.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Laurier for 5 nights while attending a conference at the University. So in that respect it was very convenient. It was a little unexpected as a Hotel and would better be described as a Hall of Residence or Dorm as others have mentioned. I stayed in a room as opposed to one of the self contained flats.

The room was very small with a solid board single bed, wardrobe, a small sink and desk - just like what students need all over the world. It had cable internet and if you are part of Eduroam it is possible to pick it up in the room. The room was yellow in colour and breeze block in texture (my eyes, my eyes!!), rather like a monastic cell, which did not encourage one to dwell in the room for any length of time when awake.

This urge to be not in the room was also helped by the shared bathroom. Well actually a room joining two rooms containing a toilet and a pod shower. You can tell someone is in the bathroom by the noise of the shower and other noises. Luckily, or not, one of my colleagues was in the adjoining room so we were able to arrange some signal and also knew when it was breakfast time. Handy really as breakfast was not included and so we had to find it elsewhere.

This turned out to be easy but with uninspiring choices from Starbucks generic to the ubiquitous Tim Horton's range of ordinariness. We did eventually find a diner just around the corner which was slightly less ordinary.

While breakfast was ordinary we did find places that sold Elk Burger and Bison Burger in the evening further down the long wide straight road running in front of the hotel.

While this may not be to everyones taste it did provide the feeling of being an undergraduate again - however the undergraduate theme park experience luckily did not include binge drinking, loud corridor shouting at night and the accompanying hangover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is not a proper hotel, it's actually the dorm/apartments used by students of the Wilfrid Laurier University during the semester. So, being student accommodations, one should not expect to find 5-stars bed, sheets or pillows. I stayed for nearly 2 months in the 200 King Street North dorms while taking an internship in the town. Linens, blankets and towels were changed biweekly; the bathroom can be cleaned upon request (just let the folks at the reception know it). The setting: two bedrooms sharing one toilet, from which you have direct access from your bedroom. For your private use, there is a single bed, a desk with a chair, a wardrobe and shelves. Sink and mirror are in the bedroom too, you only share the toilet and shower. The dorm building I stayed in had ac.

Every floor has a common lounge with sofas, tv, stove, oven, microwave and fridge for communal use. You need to bring your own kitchen utensils or rent them from the reception (you can also rent a tv set for your room - payment for both is on a weekly basis). The building has laundry on-site and you can buy soap from the reception. Every 2 weeks a round occurs and the staff go into the rooms to check if nothing was destroyed (they don't ask for deposit when you check-in). If you're in the room, you can ask them to come back later. You are responsible for the cleaning of your unit.

Overall, it was an ok experience. Didn't have major issues while there: the people I met on my floor were nice and the staff at the reception area too. They were all Laurier students, so if you're from out of town they can definitely point you out places to eat, hang out, have some drinks... The first night I stayed in I noticed the sink's drain was clogged and one of the lights in the room was not working. I talked to them in the next morning and by the time I came back from work, both issues were fixed. They also provide internet - via wifi or ethernet cable. For some odd reason, wifi was unstable during the first month I stayed there, but cable connection was perfect - and very fast.

I don't think one can find a cheaper accommodation in central Waterloo. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. GO Buses stop a corner down the road.

Room Tip: My room was not facing the main road and with the blackout curtains, I slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrtaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

These are dorm/apartment style rooms used by college students during semesters. We stayed in a 5 bedroom dorm in kings court usually occupied by post grad students. The rooms are VERY basic but clean and liveable for a few days. We paid $580 / week amongst 5 people. But sure to pay $10 for silverware and a microwave if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royclarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The lady at the desk was friendly. I got my keys and went to my room. I realized, "Hey, the bed's not made. Somebody's been sleeping in it. Hey. What's that used towel doing hanging on the wall?" I went back downstairs and was given a new room. I went in and it looked fine. I went out and returned that night. It was fine. It was just a simple empty dorm room with a small bed. It was the cheapest rate I could find in town over the internet without too much hassle. Anyway, when I checked the bathroom, I noticed it was a bathroom shared between two separate dorm rooms. I don't think anyone was occupying the other room, however there was urine and pubic hair on the toilet. There was also a used towel on the ground, used by someone (previous guest?) as a bath mat.

Anyway, I just used the place to sleep one night. I didn't spend any more time than necessary there. I will look for other options if I need to stay over in Waterloo again. It was an interesting experience to stay a night in a room that students use, but the dirty washroom with doubts if anyone else was using it was too much for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdominal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We were looking for one night's family accommodation - 2 Adults, 1 Teen, and 2 Pre-teens - and needed to have my teenage daughter in separate sleeping quarters from her brothers. The Hotel Laurier, the summer configuration of the Residences at Wilfred Laurier University in Waterloo, fit the requirements without breaking the bank account.

What we got was a residence suite with it's own locking door and containing five(5) single bedrooms, each with a locking door, a common room and kitchen, and three(3) bathrooms to share among us. There are storage rooms too but they weren't relevant for our needs.

The best way to describe Hotel Laurier is, it's a residence. The beds are very firm foam mattresses in twin size (39-inch width and 72-inch length). Rooms have a desk and most have a chair, mine didn't, and a dresser. There is *no* nightstand; hence nor is there a clock, nor bedside lamp. Nor is a phone provided in the suite, let alone your room/cell. The bathrooms have a toilet and sink and a shallow shower stall (see photos). Rooms are provided with two very thin and scratchy bath towels - the type that wouldn't be out of place in a prison - a plastic cup and bar of soap. There are no towel racks in the bathrooms (there is a hook on the back of the door), and don't go expecting face cloths, hand towels, or bath mats unless you bring them yourself. If you have room, bringing your own towel wouldn't be a bad idea - you can use one of the provided towels as a bath mat and the other as a hand towel. Oh yes, *bring your own shampoo*. One more note, for delicate folks, the toilet paper rolls have a Diamond as part of the packaging artwork and the product is named Dura-something so you can figure out how this might compare with your usual brand at home.

The Common room had a chair, a couch, some low tables and also had a small kitchen table with four kitchen chairs. Here's an oddity, there's a CATV (cable TV) outlet but no TV. You can bring your own, or rent one. Also, there's Internet cabling in the suite but again, Internet seems to be an available extra.

The Kitchen. It's equipped with a fridge & stove, two sinks and faucet. But, there are no dishes, no cutlery, no pots or pans, no dish drainer or dish soap, and no dish towels. If you're planning on cooking, or even keeping some orange juice and/or milk and cereal for breakfast. Either you're going to need to bring Mess Kits and the means to clean up, or schlep disposables. Us, we got in the car and drove about a mile South to Cora's for breakfast after checking out.

CLEANING FEE. One unexpected item was the CAD $30 cleaning fee that is in addition to the $150 rate for the five-bedroom dorm. It doesn't much change the relative economics of staying at Hotel Laurier but I didn't like it being a surprise. (Don't for get to add the 13% HST on top of it all.)

Just about everyone in the family had unflattering things to say about the bed mattresses. And aside from some quirks and what's essentially a Hostelling experience but with more privacy, it gave our family what we needed for one night. I certainly wouldn't plan a week here without bringing a lot more stuff - I'd treat it more like a trip to a scouting camp cabin than a stay in a 'hotel'.

Notwithstanding, Hotel Laurier is clean although it's definitely Spartan in appointments. It's about 1/2-hour from Stratford where we had a couple of plays across two days. As a place to flop before going back to Stratford it was fine.

Cheers

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olde_biL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, ON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

What do you want for $45. No bugs. Very quiet. Excellent A/C. Primo location. Only complaint. Very little to no hot water for my morning shower.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyPuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2002

have used wilfred laurier university (hotel) accomodation during summer months on 2 seperate holidays now. during term time it's student residence and has various types of accomodation available. it's great for people with kids, we've used their apartments which contain 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen/dining area and livingroom.
you have to provide own dishes, cutlery, sheets etc but good for families travelling on a budget.
the accomodation is designed for students-hence not elaborate but with kids do you really want to be looking over your shoulder to make sure their not making a mess?
only 1 hour from toronto

Helpful?
5 Thank A and L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
1.1 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
The Waterloo Hotel
The Waterloo Hotel
#8 of 9 in Waterloo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurier

Property: Hotel Laurier
Address: 200 King Street North | Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3C5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Laurier 1*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laurier Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing