We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost some of its charm”
Review of The Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I always like to stay in this friendly hotel, with spacious bedrooms, wooden floorboards, antique furniture and gas fires. On my most recent stay it seemed to have become a little shabby and in need of sprucing up. For example the coffee cups were very stained, the percolator glass jar chipped and I had to ask for milk rather than it just being replenished. I mentioned these on checkout (the rate is $120/night including a breakfast voucher - I recommend using it at Angies,which is 5 minutes walk with a great breakfast and friendly welcome). I do hope the owners spend a a modest amount of money to spruce it up ahead of my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about The Waterloo Hotel. We appreciate your return business and your feedback. We are sorry that the hotel was not able to meet your expectations on this visit. We are in the process of reviewing different aspects of the hotel to determine where we can upgrade and improve our amenities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

I rolled into Waterloo last night and decided to save myself the hassle of a late drive home. I called Waterloo Hotel (found them via GPS) and they were really friendly and accomodating. When I walked in there was a roaring fire and a huge, beautiful staircase. This is a lovely boutique hotel with interesting features and unique rooms. I thought there were some really nice touches, including a gas fireplace in my room, super high ceiling and a mini-fridge. Not to mention the gorgeous wood furniture and old floors. The bedding was beautiful and there was a lovely antique carpet on the hardwood. I really enjoyed my stay and they gave me a voucher for breakfast. I had three options for my breakfast which was really cool. Another plus is that the hotel is non-smoking. What I especially liked was that the hotel was boutique but not stuffy, I saw other young people and nobody minded that I needed to be let in late.

The only drawback I can see is that the building is old, so you do have to climb the high, wide staircase. Unfortuantely not wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixxxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to set ourselves apart from other hotels in the area with our unique Victorian feel and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This historic hotel is full of charm and comfort. Built in 1890 it has been nicely restored. The rooms are individually different. Some are quite large with sitting areas and fire places. The ceilings are tall and the furnishings include some period antiques. Well situated in town near the university. The hotel gives you a voucher for breakfast at one of three nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

The Waterloo Hotel Takes pride in the uniqueness of each of the 15 suites we have to offer. Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to comment. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Unfortunately I spent several days in this hotel and it was memorable for its lack of amenities and its ill-mannered staff. Be prepared to climb. There is no elevator and no one to help you with your bags. The windows in our room were permanently shut and the ventilation system is dreadful – we were either roasting or freezing – and we came down with respiratory infections during our stay. Some days our room was cleaned; some days it wasn't. It's rather pathetic when you have to gather up your own garbage and dirty towels and place them in front of your door in the hope that someone will notice. I can not emphasize enough the rudeness of the staff at the front desk. Seldom have I run into hotel staff who were so unhelpful and hostile. You receive one small bottle of water when the rooms are cleaned and since ours hadn't been cleaned in a couple of days I very politely asked the woman at the front desk for some water. As she turned her head away she actually sneered at me. All in all, staying at this hotel was a thoroughly unpleasant experience and one I would never repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Management would like to formally apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at The Waterloo Hotel. We can assure you that we have since made necessary staffing changes to ensure this does not happen in the future. We appreciate your feedback, please contact management@thewaterloohotel.ca for your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is going down hill, dirty dirty dirty, bad service and noisy.

Room Tip: Stay away from it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Management would like to formally apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay at The Waterloo Hotel. We can assure you that we have since made necessary staffing changes to ensure this does not happen in the future. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here mid-week for a conference and found it well situated with interesting antique features. The stairs get a bit tiring but the location is great for restaurants and a pleasant downtown. My only real suggestion is that I think they should have an arrangement with a local gym facility in the downtown.

Room Tip: Thee is no elevator or bellhop to carry your luggage so you need to climb a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your suggestion of partnering with a gym facility. Your comments are important and help us understand our guest's needs. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is a little gem. As previous reviewers have noted, it is an old hotel, with huge rooms and wondeful old furniture, no two rooms quite the same, redone but still far from tip top. Very well located for visits to local universities and research institutes. Weekend evenings, especially in summer, can get noisy on account of the restaurants and bars nearby, so asking for a quiet room does matter. If you don't mind creaking floors, noisy air conditioning and old (really old) furniture, then this is just the place because its charms are considerable. Front desk staff are very helpful. The one downside to note is that on account of a dispute between the hotel and the adjoining restaurant, breakfast vouchers are provided for three places within a five minute walk of the hotel. They are all very nice but this can be an inconvenience in bad weather. But overall, more power to places like this, warts and all. There aren't enough of them left, even in small towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, likely one along Erb Street rather than King Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHIManagement, Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive feed back! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterloo Hotel

Address: 2 King St N, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2W7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: $145 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waterloo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Hotel is an 1890 Inn located in the heart of Uptown Waterloo. We have 15 updated victorian suites all non smoking, most with fireplaces and furnished with fine antiques. A wide selection of reastaurants from fine dining to pubs are within easy walking distance. Both universities are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Waterloo
The Waterloo Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing