We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi buffet with a wonderful selection”
Review of Ye's Buffet

Ye's Buffet
Ranked #157 of 364 Restaurants in Waterloo
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great sushi buffet with a wonderful selection”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We enjoyed the variety of sushi and other Asian food offerings, The food was always fresh and tasty. A nice treat to be able to try so many different, rolls at the buffet, rather then ordering one or two and then sharing at a regular restaurant. The only down side was that we weren't all ready to order drinks at the very start and asked the waiter to come back in 5 minutes which didn't happen till we were on dessert. Our water was fine but a little sake would have been great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dan3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    13
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I knew that Ye's is now all-you-can-eat, but I looked at the Toronto menu by mistake and thought that I would be able to order from the menu as well. It turns out that Ye's is largely a Chinese buffet with some Japanese rolls and things thrown in. From the buffet, I enjoyed the make-your-own miso soup but the rest was disappointing. There is also a small made-to-order menu that contains some sushi and maki rolls, but it is pretty limited. I suggest that the vegetable tempura should be moved to this menu as it is pretty terrible once it sits out in a buffet tray for a few minutes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowkoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Looks better than it tastes”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

First the good things. The staff seemed quick and friendly, though they didn't come by the table very often. The décor of the restaurant was nice and modern. The buffet seemed to be kept clean and looked appealing. Most of the buffet dishes were full when we were there and there were several interesting stations, like the Make Your Own Soup station.

Unfortunately these pluses are outweighed by other problems.

While the sushi was nicely prepared and presented, the ingredients were mediocre and the buffet options were very repetitive (mostly just slight variations on California and Dragon rolls).

The biggest problem was the temperature of the food. The food seemed warm-ish on the buffet but was always lukewarm or cold by the time you got back to the table (We wondered if the plates had anything to do with this, as the food was cold, but the plates seemed to get noticeably hotter).

It's hard to comment on the exact quality of the food, since many things taste worse cold, but the cuts of meat seemed to be quite cheap and the fried rice was bland and burnt tasting.

The dessert bar looks impressive at first glance, but it actually turned out to be the most disappointing part of the meal. Many of the dishes weren't labelled. Several of the cakes were frozen in the centre. The chocolate fountain only had marshmallows for dipping. Overall the desserts were bland and cheap-tasting. The more traditional desserts on the far end of the dessert bar may have been good, but I am not familiar with how they are meant to taste.

This restaurant would perhaps be okay if you were mostly planning on eating sushi and ordering off of the menu. Otherwise it is certainly not worth the $25/per person hit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanynouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

They do all you can eat very well. Food is very fresh and tasty with tremendous variety. Servers could smile a bit more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffGingerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

When we walked in we were very impressed with the new and modern décor. The food was lacking. For a buffet there was not a lot of food out compared to other buffets. The food was warm to cold. You could order food in addition however we did not. Our waiter was not around and when we were finished eating I had to ask another waitress for our bill. I mentioned that I had not seen our waiter since we came and then another waitress came with our bill. Anyway, I would not recommend this place and we will never go back. It is not enjoyable to eat cold food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye's Buffet also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ye's Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing