We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good job Wideman's”
Review of The Bauer Kitchen

The Bauer Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bauer Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 372 Restaurants in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Allen St.
Transit: On the main 7 line heading to Conestoga Mall.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good job Wideman's”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The latest effort by Tim Wideman and company. More casual than Wildcraft but same great quality. Love going especially for lunch. A restaurant for the whole family but definitely upscale from your typical family restaurant. Even the kids will like it.

Helpful?
Thank ShareTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    156
    66
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Pleasant is how I would describe this place, and the food was tasty.

Helpful?
Thank suzanne_baal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Spot - Birthday Friendly !!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I attended this restaurant for brunch with my entire family (13 in total). We had reserved a private room in the back of the restaurant. The service / food / and decor were excellent. This has been my second visit and both occassions were fantastic. You get what you pay for ... quality food with a price. We asked for a small cup-cake type dessert for the birthday lady and the restaurant surprised us with the dessert and sparkling wine for all the guest. They did not charge us (!) and simply said Happy Birthday. A classy move by the staff.
Great spot - cool ambiance and great food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice menu and decor”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I like the small menu which actually has a nice variety of items. They tend towards putting a lot of items on everything to capture lots of flavours but it makes it a little different. Reservations are recommended but not required. Service seemed good and I felt it was a decent value for the food. The decor is trendy but nice. I'd say it feels a bit more upscale than the actual price, but I didn't order alcohol.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I had lunch there with a colleague and some clients - we got there early so it wasn't too noisy to start out but the volume went up considerably as we got to noon, including the volume of the background music. I had a chicken salad and the others all had sandwiches of some sort - the sandwiches looked good but nobody raved about their food. My chicken salad was interesting, with a nice vinaigrette and a couple of chunks of bacon in it; the greens were chopped so it made it easier to eat. Overall it was good but not outstanding, especially for the prices ($13 for the salad; $15+ for the sandwiches).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjuliennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bauer Kitchen also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The Bauer Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing