We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“such a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“such a nice hotel”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I travel a lot on business and stay at many marriotts in the USA and i have to say this is one the nicest ones that i have seen. I would definitely recommend it to whoever is in the area. great beds!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    93
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
92
5
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location, next to St Jacob Theatre. Hotel is clean, and modern. Front desk were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms were well appointed, but the AC/heating system was noisy.

The Bistro staff could use some customer service training. They were uninterested and not the least bit friendly. On 2 occasions, I waited at the counter for service, then finally went to the “staff only” door to the kitchen to alert them that there were customers waiting. Very unapologetic, and reluctantly took orders.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipsortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are always striving to do better and your feedback helps us to do just that. We're glad to hear that your stay with us was overall a positive one, but were sorry to hear about your experience with the Bistro. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our Food and Beverage team.

Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to the area, and the team at the Bistro will have an opportunity to redeem themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a great place! Clean, modern, and the service was top notch.

Everyone was super nice and friendly. The cleanliness of the rooms and common areas was the best I have seen. The beds were first rate, comfortable, and had sheets with high thread counts.

Starbucks' coffee available in the cafe for a good price. Food was a little high priced for the quality, but it is a hotel!. Evenings (5-7) including a free appetizer. Nice place to unwind and work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are especially pleased that you singled out our wonderful and hardworking staff. We take great pride in our service, so your recognition means a lot to us. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my second trip to Waterloo in 2 years. I chose the Courtyard because it was close to my meeting. I was pleased with the quality and cleanliness.

I are in the bistro twice. The food was fair, service was good. It was convenient and better than searching for a restaurant.

I will be staying here for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love this region, and are happy to hear that we helped you enjoy it while you were here for your meetings. Thanks so much for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The place is situated within reach of any places of interest in Waterloo.

If you love Starbucks the coffee is available at the cafeteria in ground floor.

Stayed here for three days for a business trip.

Cleanliness is average
Food is average
Over all accommodation it was good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and pinpointed some areas in which this is room for improvement. We strive for excellence and it's comments like yours that help make that happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have started staying at Courtyards on my North American trips and this is the nicest one yet! The front desk staff is very nice. I was upgraded to whirlpool room and was so happy to have it the first night! The layout of the room was very good, as usual; and the fireplace was a nice touch. I slept very soundly on the bed and always felt comfortable when I was there. Guilia was very friendly and nice to talk to at the Bistro bar. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying int he area and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnMatt1749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and are especially pleased to hear about your interactions with our staff. We pride ourselves on providing a great guest experience every time, so reviews like yours mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the St Jacobs/Waterloo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is good. I stayed there for professional reasons during a conference I attended in Waterlooo Ontario; it is out of the city. A bus shuttle was put in place by conference organisers, which ensured connection with Waterloo, otherwise a car would have been definetely needed. The hotel is good, has free wifi and a small cafeteria open all time for fresh coffee of tea; it represents the good standard of a business hotel without any special "personality". There is a small old-fashioned mall just infront (not worthed to be visited). What is interesting to visit is a menonit farm nearby, and for running in the morning there is a small beautiful forest full of maple trees and rabbits. For business purposes this place is good but I would definetely not recommend it for a holiday stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G, Manager at Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our amenities. If you are staying with us again we highly recommend that you visit the St. Jacobs Famers Market, which is open Thursdays and Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs

Property: Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Address: 50 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Waterloo St Jacobs (formerly the Best Western Plus St Jacobs Country Inn) has been recently renovated & features the Bistro Restaurant serving made-to-order breakfast (6am - 10am) & dinner (5pm - 10pm) daily. Lunch available Saturdays. Also features a full-service bar. All guest rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Jacobs Country Hotel Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western St Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Best Western St Jacobs
Country Inn Waterloo
Best Western Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn
Best Western Saint Jacobs Country Inn Hotel Waterloo
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing