We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't go there for the ambiance!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rex Hotel

The Rex Hotel
Ranked #18 of 133 Restaurants in Welland
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You don't go there for the ambiance!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good veal parm. Haven't tried the pizza (thin crust) but it looks great. Interior is dark and dingy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    46
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Terrible quality food. Pizza way over rated, poor service and dingy atmosphere. WIsh I never heard of this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank louiscgallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you're looking for real italian food the rex is the place to get it! They have great pizza choices as well. My favourite is the veal parm pizza sprinkle some parmesan cheese on it and it's heavenly! Best Ceasars (drink) in town!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelCG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, outdated but get things right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The decor leaves much to be desired, it's been about 30 years since any makeover but you can't beat the thin crust pizza and their all time specialty, veal. Don't let the appearance fool you, try it! The prices are right.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From Welland and very complacent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is in response to whyntrh8r's review.

All due respect ma'am, but I think your review is completely ridiculous. I have been enjoying dinner there since I was a child in the 60's. In all that time, I have never had a bad meal. The food is terrific and consistent. 

I have had the seafood gnochi dish. While your description is accurate, I have to say that you need to know what you are ordering. Yes, the gnochi are homemade and they are fluffy and light because they are made with cheese instead of potato. The tidbits are small but they are consistent with the size of the gnochi and they are clearly cooked prior to being mixed. The alfredo sauce is very traditional.... I think you are confusing that with a creamy alfredo sauce that you can find in michalina's microwave dinners that has the consistency of a thick salad dressing. And who orders a seafood dish that has mussels if they dont like the taste of fish?!

The pizza is thin crust and very tasteful. Maybe you should see a doctor about your tastebuds. The wings are a good size and always come dry. I have never been served plain wings with sauce on the side. And i fail to see where grease would come into play when they make their hot sauce.

So Im just a local guy from Welland. I may not be well traveled or educated in the art of big city/big chain culinary, but I am sure that I would be hard pressed to find a place that could match the Rex's quality  in fine homemade  italian food and consistency that has stood the test of time. Your review insults the generations of an entire city.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akr_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rex Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing