We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you think this place is good ...you haven't eaten out much”
Review of Il Fornetto - CLOSED

Il Fornetto
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you think this place is good ...you haven't eaten out much”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

maybe OK for Welland...but a complete disappointment on a national or world stage...food marginal at best...their version of Pizza Margherita was the worst I've ever been served...anywhere on planet Earth (and I use this as a standard rating pizza)...the pizza crust was inedible...would have broken a tooth had I tried to bite into the outer edge... personally I think they don't know how to make pizza...period...Salmon with Penne (actually served with linguine) was passable ...on a scale of 1-10...'5"...basically "just OK"...we sat in the corner by the bathroom (not a big deal) but we were right next to the wood used for the cooking in the pizza oven...the wood was completely covered with mould...unfortunately we noticed this after eating what we could of our pizza...the wait staff was OK ...but...will never entertain going back...complete lack of value...a bit of a funny note ...the waiter kept asking if we would like to take our leftover portions home...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBL767YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Ethnic Cuisine”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Welland is known for its multicultural population and Il Fornetto is an amazing showcase of how ethnic cuisine can be appealing to everyone.

The restaurant is one of the few in downtown Welland that had a full lunch menu. I tried a Panini made with Focaccia and fresh peppers and mushroom.

This restaurant would be even better with a group - there are plenty of new food options that cannot be found in Welland. (That alone normally guarantees a "Best X in Welland" post) The variety is limited only by the time of day. Some lunch menu items are not available for dinner. Try the lunch menu first though.

The restaurant seems to have a strong local following. Check it out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurtismccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate there for the first time last week and it was great. You are treated like you are family. The food was delicious. It is made fresh to order. Everything was very fresh. Next time we will try their brick oven pizza, it looked very good. Thanks for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skreech-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town. Nice change.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Il Fornetto has great Italian food, and the service was great. Tonight was the first time going here and after reading an article about the restaurant a couple months back my wife and I have wanted to try it. It was well worth the wait, and we will surely go back again. Thanks Micheal the food was great and by far surpasses any other restaurant in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truckerdude495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful first time experience!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

After hearing from a few people that there was a new Italian resteraunt that opened up in Welland..and hearing many good things about Il Fornetto we thought we'd give it a try..we were not disappointed! We picked a chilly Wednesday night as we figured everyone would be hibernating but there were quite a few tables! Il Fornetto is small.. Maybe 10 tables so a reservation is highly recommended. We both had wonderful pasta dishes and the Chef was more than happy to add some panchetta to my dish. We both ate about half and our waiter Nate suggested we pack it up. We finished off our wonderful meal with Profiterals. The presentation was lovely not to mention tasty!! Chef Giallani was so courteous as to introduce himself to us and even went so far as to send us over some after dinner liqueurs..limoncello with 2 mandarin oranges! What a nice touch! We look forward to returning so we can try some of the other delectable dishes.. The wood oven pizzas look incredible!! And what gorgeous job they've done on the tiling of the oven! Can' t wait till next date night!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billykatOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornetto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing