We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad & Good”
Review of Canal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Day One: Bad
The room and the hallways were loaded with Fabreeze or whatever they use to cover odors.It was terrible. We had to open the patio door and air out the room for two hours in order to make it inhabitable. The bathroom could use some elbow grease, but the bedding, carpets, etc. were fine. There was no shampoo, just two small samples of conditioner and we had to go and buy shampoo. I asked at the desk, but there was no shampoo to be found. Breakfast was limited, but OK.
Day Two: Good
When we returned to the room, the bedroom, bathroom and everything else in the room was impeccably clean. The hallways were still stinky with odor killer. Breakfast selection was the same the second day.

I would probably stay there again, based on the second day experience, but I believe that the hotel is understaffed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your review here at TripAdvisor. We are currently changing our hallway fresheners to something a little less powerful so our guests can be comfortable without airing out the rooms. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We took our daughters to Niagara Falls for the weekend and travelled with our dog.

We liked the fact that the hotel was pet friendly, with a safe area for our dog to run and play at the back of the hotel, away from the road and traffic. We had a ground floor room, with a patio door, convenient for entering and exiting for dog walks. Our room also had a bar fridge and microwave, that was convenient for travelling with kids.

We enjoyed the hot breakfast and late check out time and close proximity to the shopping outlet and the Falls.

The only thing missing is the fitness room that is advertised has been turned into a room with vending machines.

Otherwise it's a great place for a family to spend a weekend

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivoryandebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback here at TripAdvisor. It is always rewarding to know that we were able to provide our guest with a satisfactory stay. I am sorry you missed out on the fitness room, but am very happy to hear that your pet was able to enjoy the wooded area provided for our four legged friends. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The owners and managers of this hotel should not be in this industry! Their lack of caring shows as plain as day while you are a guest here. The rooms are nothing special, besides being smelly and dingy, they also contain garbage from previous guests. Maybe their maids don't know to look under and behind things, or maybe management don't enforce it, regardless the cleanliness is sub par. The breakfast is decent, unless you want a variety of juice. Don't bother asking because turns out they don't go shopping there (even though they talk about how close their location is to tonnes of shopping and amenities). But the absolute worst thing, that prompted me to write a review was the fact that when I ran out of toilet paper, I asked a maid for more, and was informed they did not have any more to give out!!!!!! excuse me, but no toilet paper!!!!! who is running this place?!?!? please explain to me how you let your hotel get like this!! I feel bad for anyone who pays to stay there, and for their staff. They all looked miserable, and I don't blame them. I would hate my life if I worked there and had to deal with this. Don't stay here, cause they definitely do not want your business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corporate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback here at TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We are currently undergoing renovations and a deep cleaning of the entire hotel. I hope you would give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family stayed for one night; located for visiting friends in Welland.Friendly people at check-in. Room was as quiet and clean. Loved that we had patio door access for our two dogs. Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Good Morning Matthew, I just wanted to take a few minutes to personally thank you for your review here at TripAdvisor. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback. The patio door is always an advantage for our four legged guests. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

i took my family here to this motel cause its not a hotel its gross the first room we got smelled really bad my wife and kids got sick from the the smell of the room so i asked for another room it was a little bit better but the stains on the floor were something else this motel needs seriuos help the only good thing i can say is that the staff was really nice renevate this place please i also cant believe some people say good reviews on this motel this was my worst stay ill never return

Room Tip: stay away if you love yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surash n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you Surash for your feedback here at TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We are currently undergoing renovations and a deep cleaning of the entire hotel. I hope you would give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit. Wishing you a happy holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our hockey team booked a weekend stay here for a tournament. Montana at the front desk was VERY accommodating with regards to reserving rooms and working around our hockey schedule. The rooms were basic but very clean, beds were comfortable and the price couldn't be matched anywhere as well. Thank you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kruppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you Tom for your wonderful feedback here at TripAdvisor. It is always rewarding to know that we were able to provide our guest with a satisfactory stay. It is also nice to hear that Montana was able to accommodate you and your team, I will be sure to let her know. We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you a wonderful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and close to all the restaurant, with in 5 minutes walking distance. We took a King; the room was nice with Keurig Coffee Machine and flat screen Tv. We enjoyed our stay. The bathroom was clean and the bedding was comfortable. I would come back to this hotel and recommend it to fellow family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you Joseph for your wonderful feedback here at TripAdvisor. It is always rewarding to know that we were able to provide our guest with a satisfactory stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Wishing you a wonderful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Welland hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
0.7 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Welland at Niagara College
2 mi away
At Home Bed & Breakfast - Rose Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Nature's Energy Centre, the
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ollie's B&B
#4 of 4 in Welland
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Address: 870 Niagara St, Welland, Ontario L3C 1M3, Canada (Formerly Canal Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range: $39 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management. We are 100% NON smoking, and your comfort is our #1 priority. We offer luxurious beds, cable TV, free high speed wi-fi in all the rooms and main lobby, free continental breakfast every day as well as a complimentary newspaper. We are conveniently located just minutes from downtown Niagara Falls, our state of the art Flatwater Centre (home of the Dragon Boat Championships and Pan Am Games). We are also mere minutes away from stunning hiking/cycling trails, world renowned wineries and beautiful beaches along the lake. We offer very competitive rates, and can accommodate groups as well. Our friendly and courteous staff look forward to making your next trip to Niagara a great one!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls/Welland Hotel Welland
Comfort Inn Welland
Welland Comfort Inn
Canal Inn Welland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing