We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”
Review of Canal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms was in desperate need of attention and there was a strong musty smell in the room when I reported this to the front desk I was told to open the patio door to air it out. If I could have switched hotels I would have. We were very dissappointed in this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cottager333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello, I would like to personally thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your stay was not enjoyable. Our hotel will be undergoing some upgrades in the near future. Our maintenance staff will be investigating the issues with the rooms and take appropriate actions to rectify the problem. I hope we will be able to exceed your expectations during your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    16
    28
    46
See reviews for
47
25
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amelia, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff at the Comfort Inn, Welland, Ontario, Canada is WONDERFUL, it is very unfortunate that they have to work with such limited resources. The breakfast area is in poor condition as most everything is empty, no pancake mix, no syrup, limited juices, limited jams while the staff has to endure the complaints of the people staying there. ITS NOT THEIR FAULT, its a result of ownership, they have a limited amount of towels, linens even shampoo. CAN'T BELIEVE COMFORT INN ALLOWS THIS TO HAPPEN, no corporate responsibility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello John, I would like to personally thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would of liked. Our hotel is going to undergo some upgrades in the near future. I hope we can exceed your expectations during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been staying at the Comfort Inn Welland for several years now, about 3 times a year, as my husband elderly mother lives there in a seniors complex and we come and visited her when we can. Since the hotel was purchased by a new owner a couple of years ago, the hotel has gone down hill and the rates up!!! Checked into our room July 3rd. The mini fridge had been turned off and not cleaned, you can imagine the inside of it when I opened it. Mould and a god awful smell. The microwave had left over food in it that had exploded . The T.V remote had dried food on it, the whole thing was disqusting. The rooms are shabby and tired looking, furniture old,bedding old, curtains falling off, carpets filthy, shower curtain filthy, walls need cleaning. You get the idea. Will Not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Jennifer, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. I apologize that your stay was not enjoyable. Our hotel will be receiving updates soon. The issues with room cleanliness and overall appearance will be rectified with our cleaning staff. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Welland hotels

Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

With only 3 hotels to choose from in this city, the selection is extremely limited. Dirty hallways and stairwells, ripped drapery and a bed with a broken leg. Really? Not what youd expect from a chain. However they did have a hot breakfast which was a nice surprise. Pancakes, eggs, baccon, sausage, coffee, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello, I would like to personally thank you for your comments. As to the condition of our hotel, we will be doing some updates soon. I am glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast selection. I appreciate your comments, they will be discussed and appropriate actions will be taken. I apologize that your stay was less than pleasant and hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Great value at $99 plus tax. Great location too. Room was clean, a bit old, but definately fine for one night.. Complimentary hot breakfast in the morning was GREAT - three kinds of juice, coffee, cereal, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, bagels, etc. TV was a nice new flatscreen, and loved being able to park right outside the room on the ground floor. Hotel may wish to consider putting sheers on the windows because once drapes are pull away, anyone can see right in. Sheers would be a big help! Will stay again next time in Welland.

Room Tip: Main floor room are good because you can park right outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Good Morning Cathy. I would just like to take a few minutes to personally thank you for leaving your review for us here on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Also thank you for your suggestion about the sheers, it is something we could certainly consider when we update our rooms. Wishing you a wonderful day, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

we needed to overnight in welland and we were looking for a decent bed, cleanliness, and hot water. the rooms are a little tired and the towels are too but the bed was good and everything was clean. the front desk responded quickly to our request for a tv remote for the nice new samsung flatscreen.

very good value for the money and the variety of foods at the comp breakfast was great.

we will likely stay here again next year on our annual welland trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I just wanted to say thank you for leaving such a nice review here at TripAdvisor for us. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at the Comfort Inn. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Came to Welland in March. Its a small town, so not much happening. The hotel was great at a great price. We are quite comfortable. The breakfast was awesome. Tim's is right next door. Good place for a good value.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms have Patio Door Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Good Morning Peter, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review here at Trip Advisor. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
6.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
7.2 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
0.7 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Welland at Niagara College
2.0 mi away
At Home Bed & Breakfast - Rose Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Property: Canal Inn
Address: 870 Niagara Street, Welland, Ontario L3C 1M3, Canada (Formerly Canal Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management. We are 100% NON smoking, and your comfort is our #1 priority. We offer luxurious beds, cable TV, free high speed wi-fi in all the rooms and main lobby, free continental breakfast every day as well as a complimentary newspaper. We are conveniently located just minutes from downtown Niagara Falls, our state of the art Flatwater Centre (home of the Dragon Boat Championships and Pan Am Games). We are also mere minutes away from stunning hiking/cycling trails, world renowned wineries and beautiful beaches along the lake. We offer very competitive rates, and can accommodate groups as well. Our friendly and courteous staff look forward to making your next trip to Niagara a great one!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls/Welland Hotel Welland
Comfort Inn Welland
Welland Comfort Inn
Canal Inn Welland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing