We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic Hotel With Fantastic People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fantatic Hotel With Fantastic People”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is our go to hotel when in the Niagara Region. It is situated on the Welland Canal with the bike trail directly behind the facility. The hotel is always nicely maintained (renovations make it even better) and the people are so friendly and helpful ensuring your stay is as comfortable as possible. The rooms are large with wonderful amenities and they are always well stocked and extremely clean. The staff take pride in their work and are always present and eager to help. We have had some great conversations with staff and appreciate their support. The morning breakfast (included) is amazing with anything available that you would want. The food is hot and fresh and appeals to all ages. This is truly a well run hotel and the staff are always friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbjsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. After a day of riding the bike trail, I am very pleased to hear our friendly staff made you feel at home and comfortable. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us, year after year and your repeat business is greatly appreciated. We have done a lot of renovating in the past year and when guests such as yourself take the time to notice and comment on it, it makes it all worth while. Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    116
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
92
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. When traveling with children, It's a bonus to have a separate living area and kitchen. It makes life a lot easier. I agree with the previous poster who mentioned hearing people above. It's not a big deal because we're deep sleepers, but if you have a baby or sleep lightly you should consider the third floor. Overall a comfortable, clean stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Memie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites. I'm very pleased to hear that our spacious suites makes traveling with your family a lot easier on you. Traveling with children can be a challenge at times and anything we can do to elevate the stress and make your stay a relaxing one, it is our pleasure to do so. We hope you will return with your family because the Niagara area has so much to offer and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was nice enough, and the breakfast is great, but there's no saunas at all, despite what it says in the description. Was very disappointed by this. Should definitely be changed. The "fitness center" is small, but sufficient. Staff are very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the false advertising stating that we have a sauna, we are not too sure were you received this information from, but all of our approved websites do not indicate that we have a sauna, however we do apologize for any inconvenience this misinformation may have caused. I am pleased to hear that our friendly staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast and work-out in our fitness center. Again we do apologize for no sauna, but we certainly hope this will not deter you from returning to the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice renovations of all rooms...accommodations a real plus except soap bars/squares way too small. Breakfast extremely good value, staff very congenial, owners appear to be putting money back into the business---very refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JimkJudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recognition of our renovations. We have newly renovated our kitchenettes and bathrooms in our suites, our lobby, breakfast room, exterior of the hotel has been painted, exterior lighting, parking lot paved and landscaping. We do all this to make our guests feel more comfortable. We take great pride in our property and when a guest such as yourself takes the time to notice, it makes it all worth it. Again thank you so much for posting your review and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berlin, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed there last week for 3 nights and it was a great experience! Beautiful hotel and largest room I can remember. Only complaints were thin ceilings. Request 3rd floor if possible. At 5:30 am on a Sunday morning we had a person in the room above us who did nothing put pace and walk around. Breakfast was great and would stay there again for sure, just on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. Your business is important to us and we value your feedback. I do apologize for the noise from the guest above you and appreciate that you will stay with us again on our 3rd floor, we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This Hotel is wonderful. Our check in was great and the staff was wonderful. I left some items behind and they were more than accomodating to help me get them back.The rooms are wonderful and spacious and clean. We will make an excuse to come back and stay longer..
Thanks again...Rick & Lynda S...Sarnia Ontario

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Rick & Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back for a longer stay. The Niagara Region has a lot to offer and we are very pleased to be situated in the heart of the region, our location is close to all attractions, whether you are looking for adventure, historic or just a relaxing leisurely get away. Glad to hear that you received the items that you left behind and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at this Best Western Plus.

Our reservation and check in was handled smoothly. We checked in abut 2 hours early, but that was not a problem. All day coffee available in the lobby was nice to find.
We were upgraded to a 2 room suite for the same price as a double. Our room has a full kitchen with micro, fridge, stove, cupboards full of dishes, cutlery etc.. The pull out sofa bed was actually comfortable for sleeping on!

There are two large screen (40+ inches) tvs and two telephones. Two closets and two drawers for clothes. :Heating/AC is wall controlled and worked well.
Good complete breakfast with yogurt, cereal, pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit, juice, sweets, toast and more!

The business office is well equipped with two individual computers as well as laser printer, 3 hole punch, stapler, shredder, etc.

Our reason for staying here was to bike on the Welland Canal Trails, which are right behind the hotel, so you can connect easily.

As others have mentioned the rooms are larger than usual. So much so, that when we asked if there was a safe place to leave our bicycles they said to take them up to our room! We placed them in the kitchen area and they did not interfere in any way (see the photo). Very Nice!

Wifi worked well in our room.

The hotel is about 25 years old and perhaps the rug and some of the chairs in the room could do with an upgrade, but these are minor items for us.

We recommend this hotel and we will stay again when we return to bicycle along the Greater Niagara Circle Route.

Room Tip: If you can nab a room that overlooks the old welland canal, it will give you a better view than we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Ursano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rose City Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious suites and that our free full hot breakfast was to your liking. As you stated our hotel is right on the Greater Niagara Cycle Route and our spacious suites are perfect for keeping your bicycles with you. Our hotel is close to a lot of attractions in the Niagara area, not only are we on the Greater Niagara Cycle Route, but we are also on the Welland Canal and there is always something happening on the canal, from dragon boat competitions, to rowing, canoeing, kayaking and Illuminaqua, entertainment performed on a floating stage with fire pods floating on the water. we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
9.1 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
423 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
13.6 mi away
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
452 reviews
12.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
15.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rose City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rose City Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
Address: 300 Prince Charles Dr S, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rose City Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites hotel offers spacious non-smoking suites. Each one features a bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed and kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and range top stove. All guests have access to our free wireless internet, fitness room, free on-site parking, and complimentary hot breakfast. We have a limited quantity of a modest pot and pan sets to be used in the guest room kitchenette. Centrally located in Niagara, 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 15 minutes from St. Catharines, 10 minutes from Port Colborne. Located next to the Greater Niagara Cycle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Rose City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Welland
Welland Best Western
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites Welland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing