We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
317 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“nice hotel, good central location”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a nice suite hotel, in a nice location, not too far from the Niagara area and the Lake Erie area where there are many beach locales. It is far enough back from the road that traffic noise isn't an issue. Port Colborne is just a few minutes down the road. There are plenty of restaurants & shopping just to the north in Welland. If you are planning on going to this hotel book your room as soon as you have your dates set as their system automatically starts bumping the rates up as the occupancy/reservations go up. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a full size fridge & stove. Very nice room. The breakfast is quite nice - all the usuals + apples, oranges, fruit salad, pancakes, yogurt, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage. Some of the items aren't available every day as they alternate them every other day. They have the TO Star + National Post complimentary every day. The fitness center is quite nice with a good variety of equipment + free weights. My only complaint is the internet speed. It is really SLOW, comparable to dial up from years past. I would definitely stay here if I was coming to this area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehappyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Sorry to hear that your internet speed was slow, I will check with our internet provider. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beaches and all the other locales that the Niagara area has to offer. We hope you will come back and stay with us soon, as there is plenty to do in Niagara.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    106
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
118
84
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I had to attend a funeral suddenly. This hotel was accommodating and friendly. The small kitchens were a pleasant surprise and helped cut some expense of eating out all the time. The staff were compassionate when they found out the reason for our visit and were kind to my family. If I were to ever get back to this area I would certainly stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lincoln T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sorry to hear of the passing of your loved one and on behalf of our entire team, I do express our condolences. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us again under more pleasanter circumstances.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Average hotel for overnight stay. Suite concept excellent, but price was high in comparison to non-metro areas in Ontario. Food quality was limited and bland, but in fairness, breakfast was FREE. Unfortunate there was no pool. Good location, off the busy commerical strip. However, not much in walking distance of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Shane B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. We value your comments, as we strive to improve and will be taking your feedback into consideration. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Welcomed with a sincere smile, which is nice these days. Comfortable rooms, nice having a suite for a change. Breakfast was delicious. Most of all, very clean. I stayed at another hotel (Comfort) in town, and will never go there again. This Best Western was immaculate, and the front desk staff very courteous, professional, and frankly worth a few extra dollars to have a pleasant experience. Having an ensuite kitchenette to cook or refrigerate was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smceown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our spacious suites. Thank you for your kind words and apreciation regarding our staff and hopefully we will be able to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

While Welland is not my first choice in terms of places to visit, this property is well situated and provides excellent value. We always stay in the one bedroom suite which is well furnished and includes a full kitchen with oven in some and stove top in others. There are no cooking utensils however apart from a set that may be borrowed from the front desk - and this is no obstacle to anyone who is prepared and has determined in advance they will dine in. I have not found much for the "dine out" in Welland unfortunately.

Breakfast is included so that meal is covered and it is a hot and cold buffet that is typical and very acceptable.

Everything about the property is clean and the staff are attentive and kind. The room furnishings are newer and the rooms are, modestly, comfortable and certainly roomy enough for a couple or family traveling with a child or two.

We have been back a number of times and certainly have only positive things to say about Rose City Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1epicure4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. As you have stated pots & pans are available through our front desk for those who wish to cook in their suite, but our guest service agents can also direct you to restaurants in the city and in near-by towns. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us soon, as Welland does have a lot to offer and our hotel is closely situated to other attractions in the Niagara area. Again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I reviewed this hotel (positively) in the past. We recently stayed there again and this was the first time we have been there when the weather was nice (it has always been winter or cold and rainy). My husband and I like to walk for exercise so imagine my delight when we walked out back of the hotel and found a beautiful paved walking/bike path along the canal. There were ducks swimming in the water and the canal was so pretty to look at as we walked. It went pretty far (we walked for almost an hour on it). It was such a bonus to have that available to us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. We are blessed to have the bike/walking path right behind our hotel and the canal is an added bonus, in the spring, summer and fall there is always a lot of activity on the canal, with canoe/kayak, dragon boats and even Illuminaqua which is musical acts performing on a floating stage with fire pods floating in the canal, hopefully you can come back and see us and experience what we have to offer. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is so spacious! It was great having a suite with a separate bedroom and kitchen area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the area. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The breakfast is great with a pancake maker that makes pancakes fresh as you order them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our fresh pancakes that our machine delivers, it is a big hit with our guests, wouldn't it be great to have one of these at home. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#17 of 129 in Niagara Falls
375 reviews
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
11.5 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Address: 300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites hotel offers spacious non-smoking suites. Each one features a bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed and kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and range top stove. All guests have access to our free wireless internet, fitness room, free on-site parking, and complimentary hot breakfast. We have a limited quantity of a modest pot and pan sets to be used in the guest room kitchenette. Centrally located in Niagara, 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 15 minutes from St. Catharines, 10 minutes from Port Colborne. Located next to the Greater Niagara Cycle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Welland
Welland Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites Welland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing