We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

When we arrived at Best Western, we were greeted with a friendly smile. The clerks are quite nice and friendly. We were quite impressed with the room. The bedroom and living room were very spacious, and the kitchenette was an added bonus (although you do have to request pots and pans from the clerk downstairs). The bathroom was 'okay', but clean. Cleanliness was definately a huge plus for this hotel; housekeeping did a fantastic job. Although I found it a bit too soft for my liking, my husband LOVED the bed - he fell asleep literally 2 seconds after climbing in.

The noise issue, however, was a major downfall. If staying at this hotel, make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor, away from the stairs. Don't even think about sleeping in. You will constantly hear people running above and beside you. It's very loud. You can also hear the plumbing from the other guests (showering, using the sink, etc.).

The hot breakfast was okay. Don't expect Denny's. It's the usual continental with a few added bonuses (sausages, powdered eggs, instant pancakes).

Aside from that, if staying at a Welland hotel, I would definately recommend the Rose City Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelholics36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guest in the future.

I am pleased to hear that if you are back in Welland again that you will stay with us and that you will recommend our hotel to others.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    101
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
115
81
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great experience all around....spacious room with kitchenette and separate sitting room. And, it was so clean! Even the remote controls were specially made so they could be cleaned in between guests. The bathroom was large. Breakfast was great. And, I actually slept well...the bed was actually comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for staying at the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our spacious suites and that you had a restful sleep in our comfortable beds. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

An unexpected trip to the Niagara Region left us in a quandary; where to stay, we needed a hotel close to the main highway as well as the core area. I did a quick Google search and came across the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites.

The three story brick building was undergoing minor construction in the front area of the hotel and we were re-routed to the back of the building to register. Ivy, the receptionist gave us a warm greeting and we were able to get an early check in. Our room was spacious and it overlooked the historic Welland Canal. Our kitchenette was well stocked with all of the necessities and the living room furniture was modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and service so much that we decided to stay at the hotel for an extra day! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were so impressed with our room that I asked one of the cleaning attendants if all of the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable review. I'm very pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you with an early check in and that you enjoyed your stay so well that you decided to spend another night with us.

We are currently constructing a porte cochere at the front entrance, so I hope using the back entrance was not an inconvenience for you. Please come back and see us again soon, to see all of our new changes and upgrades.

Sincerely,
Anne Guillemette
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nites, reasonably priced, small kitchen facilities in each room, limited utensils can be borrowed from the front desk, daily continental breakfst, grocery stores close by, with in driving distance of many tourist attractions. quiet area , friendly staff.,

Room Tip: a few rooms have a fulll size fridge and stove if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisory. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchenette suite and your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, as we are doing many upgrades to the property.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Warmest Regards, Anne Guillemette, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights again the week of October 8, 2012. We are return customers because this hotel is simply amazing. The staff are all so friendly and prepared to help in any way. It is clear that there is a great management team that motivates and supports the staff.
The rooms are large and well appointed and the beds are amazing. Breakfast is a real treat and has everything you could ask for.
It is a short drive from the Falls but the hotel and the people are worth the drive. The Welland Canal trail is right behind the hotel which is great for bike riding and hiking.
Can't go wrong staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbjsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review, your comments are very much appreciated as well as your repeat business. Please note that we have shared your comments with our staff on a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Best Regards, Anne Guillemette, General Manager Best Western PLUS Rose City Suites...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wendy and I drove north from Clarion, PA to Welland, Ontario to see Niagara Falls from the Canadian side. We chose this motel, about 30 minutes west of The Falls, to stay due to the monetary value provided. This location, brand new motel, was nestled in an industrial area of town with somewhat easy access to everything we needed. Check-in was hassle free - very friendly attendant at the desk.Our room was quiet and clean WITH A KITCHENETTE - all was in order and zero issues. Highly recommended to travelers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Curtis F

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Best Western Plus Rose City Suites. As you have stated we are less than 30 minutes from Niagara Falls and all other attractions in the area. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchenette suite and your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We cycled over 37 km in the rain, from St. Catharines along the awesome Greater Niagara Circle Route, that, in this section, ran alongside the Welland Canal(s) (number 4 - the latest, and number 1 - the first). The hotel was packed - with a lot of other cyclists - and we all parked our bikes in one of the downstairs meeting rooms. So, it was very bike friendly. We got very helpful restaurant recommendations from our reception staff and a great hot breakfast the next morning (included).

BUT, BUT, BUT - I hope the management and staff read this and do something about it, which would be easy. We biked an extra kilometre, because going south along the trail, we rode right by the hotel - and there was NO sign of any kind!!!! Which meant that we ended up pushing our bikes back north, along the verge of the very busy Prince Charles Drive (I had a teen with me and did not want to risk the road at the end of the day, laden down with panniers). The next morning, we biked directly to the trail from the end of the parking lot. I do think that it would be fabulous if there was some kind of discreet but obvious signage - clearly, this hotel is doing a lot to welcome and support cyclists travelling this route.

PS I note that some reviewers have complained about the price. It was the same as for the B&B that we stayed at in St. Catharines and less expensive than our Port Colborne Hotel. There are not that many options for accommodations here - the Niagara College Conference Centre (the residences that are available in the summer), had already closed, in preparation for the school year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellandHospitality, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Your business is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for the great suggestion on signage, the biking trail is regional property, but we will definitely check with the region to see if we can post a sign on their property indicating where our hotel is. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,
Anne Guillemette,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#19 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
11.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
Address: 300 Prince Charles Drive, Welland, Ontario L3C 7B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Welland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites hotel offers spacious non-smoking suites. Each one features a bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed and kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave and range top stove. All guests have access to our free wireless internet, fitness room, free on-site parking, and complimentary hot breakfast. We have a limited quantity of a modest pot and pan sets to be used in the guest room kitchenette. Centrally located in Niagara, 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 15 minutes from St. Catharines, 10 minutes from Port Colborne. Located next to the Greater Niagara Cycle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Welland
Welland Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites Welland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing