We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few options for Mexican food in Whitby”
Review of Mexico Lindo

Mexico Lindo
Ranked #17 of 324 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the few options for Mexican food in Whitby”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Your other options are Eldorado, or Mucho Burrito (if you are looking in Whitby/Brooklin). Service was okay. Food was okay. I usually have the steak fajitas ($15), my wife usually has a chicken enchilada with beans, rice and salad ($12). Atmosphere and decor give you feel of a Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monk657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    19
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great 1st time, expensive 2nd time!e”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to a Mexican restaurant for a change and we liked the food. So we went again but this time it was soooo expensive. Good food but expensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Mexico”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A couple weeks ago I had the occasion to try Mexico Lindo restaurant in Whitby, ON with a close friend. As friends we have done some traveling together mostly on motorcycles and a travel mantra of ours that we try to keep without fail, is to try the smaller non-chain "mom and pop"type restaurants. Mexico Lindo in a chain of 3 stores however, but has the feel of our travel mantra requirements. Secondly I'm a local and live about 2 minutes away so we're actually not travelling. First thing we noticed is a charming Mexican decor of brightly coloured souvenir type art giving us a sence of being in Mexico the second we crossed the threshold. As we we're seated, we noticed a couple of definitely "Mexican" patrons further adding to the ambiance. Our waiter was also of Mexican descent. All this added to the unique experience. As we studied the menu we asked a gentleman at the table beside us if he'd been before and he said it was his second time but could attest to the genuineness of the food to being typical Mexican fare since him and his wife just returned from Mexico on vacation. We both ordered the Chimchangas which is a deep fried burrito. Delicious comfort food to say the least. So delicious that I took my wife the next day and had the Enchilada. Only problem with this is that the caloric intake would be over the top for a daily trip but for a occasional meal and fun experience this is a restaurant not to miss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The exterior makes this place look sketchy but after driving by several times and always seeing the parking lot full we decided to try it. The food is excellent and the service very good. We've since eaten here a couple times and would definately recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT AUTHENTIC MEXICAN”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food and service was great and prices reasonable. Had the Chimichanga and it was delicious. Salad, rice and re-fried beans were good. Highly recommend this place. I hear they have 2 other locations. I love independent restaurants like this for their uniqueness. Hey Guy Fieri ( Diners, Drive Ins & Dives ) - check this out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Lindo also viewed

 

Been to Mexico Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing