We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty restaurant, what a difference a year makes!”
Review of Starr Ave Burger

Starr Ave Burger
Ranked #19 of 327 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty restaurant, what a difference a year makes!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have eaten here from time to time.
Quality of their burger meat now fatty, and tough, I ordered chicken greek style on a bun for take-out with sweet potato fries.
I took two bites of the chicken which was a very odd texture, and the second bite the meat was rare! I removed this "food" and threw it away. I was sick with foodborne illness for 2 days.
I will NEVER eat here again! I am a RN and would not encourage families to serve this to children or the elderly. The owner needs to retain young staff cooking regarding food safety. Public Health need to re-inspect!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    26
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitby, ON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The burgers are always awesome, the fires and onion rings are consistently good and the atmosphere is very retro. The food is absolutely mouthwatering and just what an old fashioned burger should taste like!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok Burger but not Great”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I find their burgers taste a little processed like the frozen ones you get from the grocery store. They're not horrible but there are better burger joints around!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We love the food at Starr Burger so much, we drive from the Oshawa-Courtice border just for a Starr Burger burger. Great prices, good food, fast and friendly service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Have an appetite!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best burgers in our area. Great fries but be hungry! Looking for that home cooked burger? Here you go..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starr Ave Burger also viewed

 

Been to Starr Ave Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing