We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Greek Tycoon Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 323 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The restaurant is usually packed on weekends so I reservations are recommended. Best Saganaki I have had in any Greek restaurant. It's amazing to watch how often they light the cheese so to speak on any given night. They sell several at a time. My wife had the salmon and I went with the chicken breast. My wife's salmon was cooked perfectly and moist and my chicken was also tender, juicy and lightly marinated in oil, lemon and oregano. It was perfect. The pairing of a white Zinfadel was an excellent choice for both dinners. The mixed vegetables that came with each meal were cooked in olive oil and were cooked just right. The veggies were not mush or too crunchy. We finished with coffee and I was impressed with the fact both my wife's coffee and my specialty coffee were served piping hot. Noting worse than lukewarm coffee. The upper level where we were seated and is nicer, was practically full. It had a warm ambiance with lots of chatter but I never at any time found it too loud. I like the fact the servers don't rush you in fact be prepared to take your time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    57
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OMG what a jem”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Amazing food, great prices, and the portion is large enough to feed you for a week. This place is packed with locals because it's amazing. Try for a reservation cause you may not get in without one. Super authentic great great food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingCanadian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite a Surprise !”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good food, good atmosphere, good value !
In a small plaza just north of the 401 on Brock Street is a small charming Greek restaurant serving old world charm with excellent food.
A must try for all Durham Region residents!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Longtime standard in Whitby for Eating Out”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have lived in Whitby for past 12 years and first visited Greek Tycoon the first month (our wedding anniversary). Many restaurants have come and gone over the years (including several Greek competitors), but Gus and Mary's Greek Tycoon have continued with consistent home-prepared food and service. Also great takeout alternative, good portion of their business model. Still one of our 3-4 choices of restaurants to eat in Whitby-Durham Region.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Large portions, tasty menu”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was most impressed with the service at this restaurant. Ordered wine, saganaki, veggie platter and baklava and the food was very good. Good size portions of everything and was given bread to start.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Tycoon Restaurant also viewed

 
Whitby, Ontario
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to Greek Tycoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing