We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met, if not exceeded, most of my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Whitby
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Met, if not exceeded, most of my expectations”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Near perfect stay! ... Actually I can't think of one thing I can complain about. We stayed here, along with the rest of our child's team, for a tournament. We were planning on arriving before the check in time, so I called the hotel to see if we could check in early and they said it was no problem, just for us to call one hour before we arrived to make sure they had the room ready. We ended up not needing to check in early due to the traffic. From the moment we walked in the staff were friendly and attentive, behind the desk. Told us they put the team on the same floor and near each other which was fantastic. Rooms were spacious and clean. We had the bachelor suite... (think that's what it was called), kitchen was clean and had everything you needed... Oh, no dish soap... There's the one complaint, lol. But had the dishwasher soap :) even gave a bag of popcorn in the room. Hotel was right near the 401, gas stations, stores and restaurants. Pool was nice and pretty sure they had a hot tub too. Kids had a blast. Beds were very comfortable, the pullout didn't seem too comfy but our son passed right out and didn't wake up saying he was sore so that was good. They allowed dogs (I guess the other thing that I did think was ridiculous, was the $75 pet fee/room) but honestly, I sucked it up cause everything else was great. The breakfast buffet was SO very good!! Had a good selection of foods, hot and cold. Also make your own waffles. The kitchen staff were wonderful even though it was chaotic with the team/kids there and other hotel guests. Any time you needed help they were right there smiling to assist you.

We will absolutely stay there again and we definitely recommend this hotel to stay at. Thankyou for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer02_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Jennifer,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with the team. We will pass along your comments to the appropriate people.

Regards,

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    98
    27
    10
    16
See reviews for
98
56
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were in Whitby for the weekend for a sporting event. Most of the hotels in the area were booked due to sporting events and local concert events. This hotel came up last minute and we jumped on it.

We arrived around 2:00pm to try and check-in. The hotel was booked solid for three days so we weren't sure if we would be able to get our keys. We were greeted with a smile and 5 minutes later had our keys to our suite.

It was a two-bedroom / two bathroom suite with a small kitchen and living area. It was perfect for our small family. There was a queen bed in each room. I did wish the master had a king but no big deal. There was a fireplace in the living area as well.

The room was very clean and everything was in good working order. I was a little concerned with the noise level of the hotel as the public areas were swarming with large groups of sport teams. While the hotel was buzzing with activity, I found the room to be very quiet and comfortable for sleeping. No concerns. They also had their security team very visible making their rounds to help quiet down any rowdy sport teams (and their parents...) and concert goers. In my personal experience, didn't see or hear anything that warranted additional security. I guess better safe than sorry.

The pool area was small but nice. A little crowded due to high occupancy but nothing to complain about.

There were several quick dining options across the street from the hotel and others were only a few minutes away by car. Easy access to the highway. The marina was 5 minutes away. The sports complex was 2 minutes away. Great location.

The breakfast in the morning was more than ample for a quick bite prior to heading to the sports park. I had a bagel (it was huge!) with peanut butter. Hubby had French toast. Dear daughter choose sugary Fruit Loops that she doesn't get at home. The juice choices were good. Lots of fruit. Can't comment on the coffee as I didn't have one. Everyone enjoyed their pastries as well.

Left the hotel with a great impression. If we return to Whitby for another event, we will definitely choose the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_With_Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Tracey,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visit.

Thank you

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

You can't go wrong with the residence inn.

Safe. Affordable. Nice. Clean. Friendly. Good breakfast. Free wifi.

Why not stay here? Good location with lots of places to walk to if you are hungry. If you are coming into town, give it a try. You will probably be glad you did.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsettercp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Jetsettercp,

Thank you for your recommendation we hope to see you in the future!

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A very nice Residence Inn. Was greeted by Stephanie who checked me in. She was nice and did a great job. The Breakfast was good and the quality of the room was very good. If you are heading to the Candian Tire Raceway for any events, this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssschardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Ssschardt,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your comments regarding Stephanie. We appreciate your recommendation.

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our second booking with the Residence Inn to host a training session for our volunteers, a group of 16 people. They have new tables in the meeting room that can accommodate any configuration. ( in the past only boardroom style was available). The Director of Sales and Marketing, Jacque MacMillan was very flexible and accommodating. They met all our catering needs including healthy options and serving one participant with special needs. They did this within tight catering budget guidelines. They even provided a BBQ lunch on the outdoor patio for the last day of training. It was a beautiful day and such a nice treat for the participants. I am again truly impressed with Jacque's work ethics and passion to please her guests. I highly recommend this location for small training needs. ( only the room size limits their capacity to meet larger group needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Diana,

Thank you for your comments. It is always wonderful to hear good comments about our staff. We look forward to continue working with you.


Thank you
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Although the facility felt a little dated and could use a little freshening up, it was convenient to jump off the 401. If you are headed east, this gets you away from early morning traffic going into Toronto. They have an excellent breakfast highlighted by perfectly made scrambled eggs. You couldn't do them better at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon - General Manager

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your comments. We did a full renovation 2 years ago. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and it was a convenient location for you.

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Residence Inn on June 29th. From our arrival, early, until our departure we were most impressed by the courteous and helpful staff. We have not experienced that level of customer care at any hotel before. The room was exactly as we had requested, quiet and roomy. We appreciated the freshly baked cookies and cool water in the room on our arrival. The room was clean and well appointed. We would look forward to staying at this hotel in the future. You could easily stay for an extended period of time with a full kitchen and many extra support services.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank a71t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbyRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Whitby, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Subash Ramkissoon- General Manager

Dear Contributor,

Thank you for your post regarding our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass along the comments to the staff. The kitchens do add a nice touch even if you are here for a short time!

Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
159 reviews
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Whitby

Property: Residence Inn Whitby
Address: 160 Consumers Dr, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Whitby 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Whitby Hotel Whitby
Whitby Residence Inn
Residence Inn Whitby Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing