We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place...clean...safe...close to great food...very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadiana Inn

Canadiana Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canadiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitby B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place...clean...safe...close to great food...very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I recommend this place for Young singles, A romantic getaway, Girlfriend getaway, People with disabilities, Older travelers, Great pool, Pet owners, Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Tourists
Used for boating / Historical sites/ lake front / Outdoor / Great food / golfing

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbygucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have been staying there for several weeks while doing business for my company in Oshawa. Stayed the first week at Knights Inn in Oshawa. It was disgusting. Convenient if you are looking for a hooker , I suppose. The Motel 6 is actually $ 5/night cheaper than this place, and I stayed there for on week, but it's in the commercial zone off the 401, noisy, small tv, no microwave, and no fridges in most of the rooms.
Canadiana has bigger tv with input jacks, because I plug in my dvd player, and there is a video store across the street, it's quiet, the landscaping is beautiful, great internet, both wireless and plug in, parking in front of room, and close to downtown. It's worth the 5 bucks over the Motel6 although it's starting to get a bit old. worn and dated. Plumbing is better at the big chains.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckdsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I will start with my family and lacrosse team has stayed at the Canadiana Inn for a few years now for their provincial tournaments. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms clean, the pool well kept but the owners are rude and very unwelcoming. As a team we have always tolerated this as the setup and location are perfect for us. While I know having sports teams in any motel/hotel is challenging, if you take the reservation for 15 rooms then you are willing to take on this challenge and the money of a full motel that comes with it. The first thing you hear when you walk in the door is "listen to the rules I am about to tell you.......we are strict. No balls, no running, no yelling, no visitors.....the list goes on for a few minutes followed by "how are you paying". No hello, no welcome to the Canadiana...no nothing.
As a team this is the last year we will use this motel. Not welcoming to groups but most likely would be fantastic for the older couple travelling alone.
Its on the pricey side for a small motel, running higher than Quality Inn and Holiday Inn which includes continental breakfasts. The room service is poor. We were asked if we wanted towels but they never came back to clean room or empty garbages etc.
Beds are brutal and need updating..........either old or very cheap quality. The pullout couches are more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Canadiana Inn is managed by an older couple, especially the wife landscaping the grounds. It's been cared for and maintained with the little details, a time before investors gobbled up little places like this and brought down its reputation.

The outdoor heated swimming pool has a tile pattern, open 10am-10pm during the summer months, a handheld shower in the bathtub, mini-fridge, microwave, complimentary wi-fi (802.11b 11Mbs), free parking lot, comfortable beds for a good night's rest.

Brock Street in downtown Whitby is 0.97 km away, a bit out of the way in the hot summer or cold winter. Housekeeping knocked on our door while we were still in, she asked if we needed anything, towels, soap? I asked if she would come back in half an hour, she replied "no problem". When we returned after a day out, the room wasn't made up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadiana Inn

Property: Canadiana Inn
Address: 732 Dundas St E, Whitby, Ontario L1N 2J7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadiana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canadiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadiana Inn Whitby, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing