We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Food & Service”
Review of Chatterpaul's

Chatterpaul's
Ranked #3 of 323 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pickering, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

All of our party of seven gave rave reviews!
The food was excellent and well presented.
Service was cordial and efficient.
Bottom line: Go to Chatterpauls - you will not be disappointed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Fisherman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    100
    46
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We returned to Chatterpaul's for my wife's birthday and it was excellent once again. We've eaten here 4 or 5 times and every single dish has been outstanding. They have excellent service despite being busy; in fact, I have tried and failed to make reservations 3 or 4 times, so if you want a table on a weekend, be sure to call at least two weeks in advance. This time I was at first disappointed because the head chef was not there, but the quality did not suffer. My friend asked if he could order the Surf n' Turf for 2 instead for 1 and they delivered. We used to live in Toronto and this Whitby restaurant is consistently better, with big portions and fair prices, while also being a creative blend of Caribbean, French and Asian cuisine on an always evolving menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneOf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had a midday lunch and was very happy with the lunchtime menu. The selection was extensive and impressive. We both had a salmon dish but each was very different to the other. The restaurant was not very but but ours was a late lunch. Staff were friendly and the setting inside is modern and comfortable. Another enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseT791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed at the doorstep”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I wanted to go out for a special dinner and decided on Chatterpauls since it is very close to where we live. It was on a Friday evening around 6:30 when, naturally, it can get very busy. The hostess who "helped" us was extremely rude and unhelpful. In a very unhappy voice she asked "what can we help you with". Her body language complemented the tone in her voice. When I asked her if she could find us a table for 2 she rolled her eyes and said "that's gonna be at least 45 minutes or more". When I looked in the restaurant there were numerous tables open which according to her were all reserved. I told her that we were there for a very quick meal and asked for what times all the open tables were reserved she basically ignored me. Being from the hospitality industry I was totally flabbergasted and truly disappointed. I understand that Chatterpauls has wonderful food but the experience starts at the door and for now this door is closed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth Chattering About”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our meal at Chatterpauls was delicious. Service was good and the window seating comfortable. Although outside the window was a parking lot the restaurant managed to have an elegant atmosphere. We stayed for much longer than originally intended and the server did not try to get us moving out the door like some places. The experience was very nice and I would highly recommend it for business luncheons. Our discussion lasted hours so that alone shows how comfortable and pleasant the restaurant was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatterpaul's also viewed

 
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to Chatterpaul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing