We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, great service, good food!”
Review of Sao Sao

Sao Sao
Ranked #83 of 213 Restaurants in Brossard
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great price, great service, good food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great place to have a decent meal. I usually have a large grilled chicken Pho with an order of imperial rolls as appetizer.

Always satisfying, the price is always there, very friendly and polite staff. You are never left unattended even if the restaurant is very busy.

I am glad this place is so close to home. The weeknight special on the Pho can't be beat!

The only down side, is that sometimes, the imperial rolls seem to have been overcooked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    29
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely give it a try!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We took a chance with this restaurant for my birthday. I was looking for flavorful, fresh food and we definitely got what we wanted. Everyone tried something different at our table, and liked their meal. We had pho, spring rolls, rice noodles with grilled chicken, deep fried shrimp. Everything was great, fresh herbs were plentiful. To top it off, service was excellent, the two waiters had excellent manners and a pleasant attitude.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Sao Sao is not so so”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Numerous visits to this Vietnamese restaurant over the last three years and no disappointments. I may not be an expert but I travelled extensively in Vietnam to be able to compare and appreciate.

Simple white and lime decor, airy and clean, attentive service, excellent value for quality and price at lunch time with the Midi Express.

Tonkinese soups (Pho) both Pho thai: raw beef and Pho ga: boil chichen, are fresh and generous. Vietnamse stuffed pancakes are light with plenty of stuffing and garnish. The traditional brochettes with salad, Imperial roll and rice are also worthwhile at lunch and a good value.

Difficult to understand why some reviews are so negative when the most respected food critics in Montreal were all positive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good price, good service, clean but tasteless Pho and terrible viet iced coffee!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location was perfect if you come to brossard to get your Asian groceries at Kim Phat next door, so we gave it a try. The restaurant was spacious, and simple with a modern twist.
Service was nice, fast and prices goods.
BUT...We ordered a Pho, 5 mn later the pho arrived with a small plate of soya bean sprouts and a thin branch of Asian basil ( no other Vietnamese herbs like a good Viet resto would offer), when I tasted the soupe was plain, no taste, no smell of the pho spices at all. After a few tries, I gave up it was like eating hot water with a bit of salt and noodles. I don't understand, how you can mess up the soup so badly! Even with the pho cube brouillon, you get more taste!! And the viet iced coffee tasted if it had been made from cigarettes butts.
It was such a dissapointing experience and a waste of money. Didn't eat and dring anything!!!
If you know what real Vietnamese food taste like, I would recommend you to stay away from Sao Sao.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwideBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great pho”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

every time i go there i always order a nice big bowl of pho with a iced coffee.
Price is decent and service is pretty good.
The place and the bathroom are clean definitely worth a try!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank EricVanNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Sao also viewed

 
Brossard, Quebec
Brossard, Quebec
 
Brossard, Quebec
Brossard, Quebec
 

Been to Sao Sao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing