We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, high price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niji Sushi Bar Et Restaurant

Niji Sushi Bar Et Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 213 Restaurants in Brossard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rome
Description: Niji Sushi Bar caters to those who enjoy fine Japanese cuisine. The name Niji, meaning rainbow, was chosen to embody the essence of its primary colors. The design was inspired by the duality of the natural forces of sun and rain. A mix of traditional Japanese design and modern architecture is brought together with simplicity, refinement and avant-gardism. Niji aims to exalt all your senses. Let our menu charm you.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good quality, high price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We enjoyed Niji on a weekday evening. This was our second visit.
We were greeted in a surprisingly rude manner, seated practically at the same table as a family of 6 despite there being many available seats in other areas of the restaurant that were open. Our greeter deposited our menus on the table without asking if the table suited us and left. We did not remove our coats, actually picked up the menus and went back to the restaurant's entrance to get him and asked for another table. The waiters were otherwise very courteous and knowledgeable.
I agree with other reviewers about the fresh taste of the fish. The sushi here are superior to others I have tasted. It is priced highly, however. One of the dishes, the "pizza", feels like a slice of fried potato paste on top of which rests a slice of smoked salmon, the same kind of fried potato one may purchase in a pack of 16 at the grocery store for a few dollars. The price of 16$ seems exaggerated.
We had a good experience overall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The taste of fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have tried so many Sushi restaurants that, at times, it's hard to keep track.
If there is one that we had to choose and sacrifice all others, Niji is the sole winner. It is a consensus with the entire family members who have eaten there and "fresh tasting" is the common description that keeps popping up. Their sushi, nagiri, sashimi, maki etc... all are superb in taste. The cost is not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Another excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

For the 2nd time we spent a great time here for my wife birthday. The sushies and chosen specialties were great. The atmosphere was excellent and great service. We definitelly will come back. A lot of choices left to be tried in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent sushis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We eat sushis a lot and tried many different places in the Montreal area. This one is not our #1 on our list but sure is our #1 on the South Sore. The food is very good, fresh and inventive as they have an impressive list of chef's specialties (try the 'Tears of Joy' - 'Larmes de joie').
A bit on the pricy side for sushis but well worth the extra cost.
The place is nice, modernly decorated, with outside dining if you like the Dix30 atmosphere (we don't!) or take your sushis home, the won't mind.
The only reason we didn't give 5-stars is a couple of bad experiences with the service, but it depends on the night and the staff on hand. Once, it took more than an hour to get our food served...but most of the times the service is okay, sometimes very good...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcAndre_StG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alert, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and very good high quality Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very fresh sushi and beautiful ambiance. All the entrees are professionally prepared and presented. No reason to go downtown for Japanese food if you are in Brossard/south shore area. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank molove2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niji Sushi Bar Et Restaurant also viewed

 
Brossard, Quebec
 
Brossard, Quebec
 

Been to Niji Sushi Bar Et Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing