We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Restaurant Le Gourmand
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Pointe Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 28, 2019

Probably our 10th time dining here. The food is good but not as good as years before. Had the coconut shrimp appetizer which was good, the arugula salad....nothing special. My husband had the venison and it was good but not great. Dessert was excellent. The service is good but the restaurant is really expensive considering what you get for it. It’s an ole reliable standby, but not in a league of its own anymore.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 190karinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 225 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2019

This well-known restaurant in the Point Claire village has been a recommended destination for fine-dining on the West Island for many years. We booked a table for two on a Friday night to celebrate a significant anniversary. The decor and atmosphere in this 170 year-old historical building is pleasant. The stone walls and wooden beams combined with bright and colourful local scenes by a local artist make for a pleasant ambiance. Service was friendly and timely. Of course every table was occupied and the noise level from some large groups did get elevated at times but this is not unexpected in Montreal. We ordered a-la-carte but a table-d'hote menu was also available. The leek and potato soup was delicious and the bread side dish was good but rather small in quantity.
My main course was the "Duo: Magret and Duck Leg Confit" which was served with mashed potatoes and string beans. The portion was generous and the sauce very tasty and appropriate. However, I found the Magret rather tough - especially the white sinews that even the steak knife could not cut without much effort.
My wife chose the "Seafood au Gratin in a Pernod Cream Sauce". It was also very tasty with some large shrimp and scallops. Unfortunately the dish was overwhelmed by the pernod cream sauce and the large clam shells had cheese encrusted on the shells. A soup spoon was provided with this course to handle the cream sauce.
Of course all was enhanced by a nice bottle of wine - they have an extensive menu starting at $40-$50.
So dinner was very good but some aspects of the main courses we chose were a bit disappointing for a first-class restaurant in the $175-$225 price range (for two with wine)

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheBlues-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Generally a huge fan of this place and my reviews have been great over the years.

BUT

Things are not the same. Used to have larger portions and better filler but now the 4 scallop is now a two MINI scallop dish. For 15$ this is not ideal and a bit of a rip and a joke.

Duck was served on this so-so pasta filler. Little cheap.

Disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank petertherock1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

one dish of mussel w/ wine sauce and one w/cheese. and a bottle of local wine. nice.

The restaurant is located in a rustic building on a side street in the village of Point-Claire. warm ambience. However the table we were at was tiny, it could not hold all our dishes, problem was solved by adding a side table, it was not too busy for a Monday.

We came in through a side entrance, with a fairly high step from the sidewalk into the restaurant. I do not know how the main-entrance looks like. Side entrance is certainly not suite for older clients.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jojosylt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

It is one of the better and les pretentious restaurants in the West Island. The service is friendly. Reservations are a must. Depending where you get seated, it can be cramped. The food is all top quality.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Gourmand also viewed

Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Le Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing