We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop”
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Description: This Canmore destination restaurant established in 1997 by Jan and Richard Hrabec is renowned for its eclectic approach to food, wine and ambience. Dishes at Crazyweed utilize local ingredients. The menu includes gluten- and dairy-free options, and is vegetarian friendly. Crazyweed's contemporary décor includes big windows, mountain views and an open kitchen with wood burning oven. The restaurant boasts an intimate patio and ample parking. CBC food critic John Gilchrist called Crazyweed a "10 out of 10," and it has been featured on the Food Network's You Gotta Eat Here.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great lunch at the Crazy Weed during a day outing in the area. The service was fantastic and has improved since previous visits, as has the speed of the kitchen. These improvements, combined with new kids options (not on the printed menus but advised by the attentive waiter) and the ever fresh and tasty meal options make this a place not to be missed if in it traveling through Canmore. Give the Vietnamese meatball sandwich a try, it's one of my favourites and doesn't disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tchokwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    233
    98
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique, Fresh and Inviting”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at CrazyWeed after a recommendation from a local resident. Our two children (11 & 13) are fairly plain eaters and the cooks were willing and able to accommodate their requests. The bar tender made a perfect French martini (my recipe vs the one on the menu), the service was very good and the wait staff was very attentive to our table (i.e., water glasses stayed filled, check delivered promptly, etc). Loved the variety of the menu and the combination of unique favors combined with the farm to table freshness! Well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crazy Weed with a crazy good menu!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a find. Crazy Weed with a crazy name is located about a 2 minute drive from Canmore's Main St. Certainly worth the short trip. The decor is very contemporary as is the menu, We ate outside in mid-August. The temperature was perfect as were the views of the surrounding Rockies. I had two "small plates; the salt and pepper calamari and the albacore ceviche. Both were excellent. My wife loved her pork chop. There is a vast wine list and a few of the bartender's specialy drinks. I threw, Issac, a curve by ordering my own special cocktail, but he was up to the task with flying colors. Crazy Weed was notch above most meals and well worth the effort. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShamelessFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance, Friendly Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went for a late appetizer and wine this weekend at Crazy Weed Restaurant in Canmore. The menu offered many choices, including an excellent wine list. Our server was amazing, so friendly and she made us feel very welcomed, even though it was late there was never a hint of hurry up. Would definitely return for a full meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal we had on our road trip!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fell upon this restaurant by accident as we didn't want to go into town during the folk festival over the long weekend. Sooooooo glad we did! Best meal we had during our week long road trip through the rockies! Carrot curry soup was amazing as was the open faced sandwiches. Our plates were picked clean and the portion sizes were great! Wish we could've eaten all our meals here! Definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctrller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing