We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare your taste buds to be blown away!”
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
Ranked #6 of 122 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Description: This Canmore destination restaurant established in 1997 by Jan and Richard Hrabec is renowned for its eclectic approach to food, wine and ambience. Dishes at Crazyweed utilize local ingredients. The menu includes gluten- and dairy-free options, and is vegetarian friendly. Crazyweed's contemporary décor includes big windows, mountain views and an open kitchen with wood burning oven. The restaurant boasts an intimate patio and ample parking. CBC food critic John Gilchrist called Crazyweed a "10 out of 10," and it has been featured on the Food Network's You Gotta Eat Here.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prepare your taste buds to be blown away!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here after it being recommended by a local as the best restaurant in Canmore. And he was right!!! The food was absolutely deliciously and the best meal we had on vacation. The flavors were so creative and original. We thought that the quality of the meal was very reasonably priced. Do not miss out on the Crazy Weed, we would HIGHLY recommend!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    233
    98
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had an excellent dinner and great service. We showed up at about 8PM on a Sunday night. The hosted said a 1/2 hour wait. We stopped at the bar and 10 minutes later she had us seated. Drink prices were reasonable but on the weak side. I switched to a draft beer which was perfect. We ordered a salad to split and it was more than enough for two people. Antree's were excellent. They even give you a type of pizza bread instead of the usual sourdough slices. Again, they were great.

Overall, it couldn't have been any nicer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, rest could be improved”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

When we entered the restaurant there were several people waiting in the small lobby. No one was there to take our name or lend any sense of organization to the crowd. After a few minutes one of our group made her way to the cash register where the only employee that we could see was working only to be rebuked with a terse "I will be with you momentarily". Finally a hostess came and seated the group before us and then returned to seat us. The server was nice but somewhat slow. He explained that the kitchen was behind and it would be a while. It was. When the food came it was really excellent. It is worth the wait if you are not in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimcab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant grew from a small hole in the wall on Main Street to this super wonderful special place next to the train tracts on Railway Ave. I eat there often. Lunch or dinner is always better than just good. I recommend it unconditionally to anyone who enjoys the upscale side of life. Yet it also remains quite unpretentious. Love this place. The best place in it's class in the Bow Valley.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charldewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Eclectic, modern tastebud thriller”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Worth the drive to Canmore. Service is great, menu is well varied to suit a wide range of tastes and the food will make your mouth do a little happy dance.

Let's start with the atmosphere. Bright and airy with soaring ceilings in a contemporary building with massive windows from which to view the dramatic mountains surrounding the area. Gotta love that. There's a very nice patio too, decked out with decent, substantial tables and chairs - not the afterthought most patios seem to be.

We started with the calamari with a cilantro lime dipping sauce that complimented the very tender squid perfectly. The halibut special was gorgeous. Pretty on the plate and the fish cooked to perfection - it was very difficult to get my husband to give up a morsel to my taste buds. The creamy mushroom polenta was deliciously rich with flavour. They serve up house focaccia that is a nice touch.

The server was knowledgeable, prompt and friendly and he was a whiz handling several tables adeptly. Clearly a fellow with experience and good training along the way.

I will definitely return. You will want to make a reservation, though, because a couple of times we tried to get seated here in the past and it wasn't possible. This is a busy place and now you know why.

Worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing