We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not So Crazy"”
Review of Crazy Weed

Crazy Weed
Ranked #7 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: bow valley trail
Description: This Canmore destination restaurant established in 1997 by Jan and Richard Hrabec is renowned for its eclectic approach to food, wine and ambience. Dishes at Crazyweed utilize local ingredients. The menu includes gluten- and dairy-free options, and is vegetarian friendly. Crazyweed's contemporary décor includes big windows, mountain views and an open kitchen with wood burning oven. The restaurant boasts an intimate patio and ample parking. CBC food critic John Gilchrist called Crazyweed a "10 out of 10," and it has been featured on the Food Network's You Gotta Eat Here.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Not So Crazy"”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ok...So my wife and I and 8 friends visited this Restaurant 3 times during our 7 day stay in Canmore......we simply loved the food and atmosphere. It has a young vibrant feel to it and I like the way you can lean in and talk to the chefs. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful.....sit out in your car or go to the Post Hotel! ( We dined there too) We are a 60+ group and we really liked the menu and wine list.

Try it...We travel all over the States (We are all from Central California) and found this restauant
to be a real find!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PJBSanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    232
    97
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, noisy atmosphere”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Dinner of BBQ ribs were excellent. Very contemporary, good service, $$$.
Only complaint was the loud and horrible music. Meals out should be (to me) should have a pleasant background music for a peaceful experience. I found their s to be distracting despite the food and service being good.
Would not go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wingsofmanAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I like the concept.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A small town needs a great menu without any stuffy business. Airy, light, casually dressed wait staff armed with a huge knowledge of wine that lines the walls. ($35-700)
Prices vary but you might want gourmet pizza and draft, or great steak and fish.
I loved my baby back ribs and the basic green salad is simply fantastic. Our friends enjoyed. Chefs can cook for those with food concerns. Reservations are recommended but not always necessary and you can sit at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavely, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Enjoyed a special Thanksgiving at the Crazy Weed. The chicken wings were delicious as an appetizer. We each had fish (the famed Sable fish and halibut) and they were both great. Great waitress - attentive service even though it was a busy night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank writerdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Probably a very nice spot for dinner.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went during lunch. The menu didn't offer a lot of choices, and the food was what you would expect at those prices. It seems like a higher class dining environment but we were surprised by how many families with small children were there. I would not go back for lunch again but would try dinner; they have a huge selection of wine. The staff were excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VegonicaMagaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Weed also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Crazy Weed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing