We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in a great place”

Murrieta's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $101
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great meal in a great place”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I have been to Murrieta's a couple of times on day trips to Canmore from Calgary. It is a great setting with a view over the main street of Canmore. We did not have a reservation and were luckily able to get in without a long wait (it is recommended though that you have a reservation).

The food was great and well prepared. One on of our trips we both had a steak (my wife is typically not a meat eater and rarely orders a steak) and both loved every bite. On our previous trip we ordered lamb and duck and we were both greatly satisfied with our meal.

The setting of the restaurant is a semi-formal atmosphere. It is a place you can come fully dressed up or casual as well (if you sit in the bar area). Costs for the main courses range from $20 - $40 depending on what you get.

We look forward to our next trip to Canmore so we can return to this restaurant which is quickly becoming one of our favorite places to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AStriefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    134
    57
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

From not receiving a kids menu for child, to up selling me on gluten free bread, to small portions,etc find somewhere else to eat

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Canmore”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

You will find a high quality restaurant here with a varied menu for every palate. My wife and I enjoyed some delicious seafood, very nicely prepared, as well as the featured wine which paired well with the main course. The service is professional with being pretentious. The views of the Rockies add to the whole experience. Bravo!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryinAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The service was great. Our waitress was very attentive. The food was amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant if you ever go to Canmore, Alberta.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot downtown Canmore”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Above street level and not visible to someone that doesn't know downtown Canmore. Our family had a lovely lunch with baby and all. Homemade soup and beautifully presented salads. Not sure we will ever be back but hopefully someone that doesn't know the area will read this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toron217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrieta's Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Murrieta's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing