We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Very Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrieta's Restaurant

Murrieta's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $101
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Food and Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited Murrieta's and experiences a very good meal in a great atmosphere. The restaurant is modern and attractive. We ordered pasta and steak and both were very good. The steak was perfectly cooked and very tender. The service was also very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    121
    50
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sedona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice view, OK food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The view from this 2nd story restaurant was very pleasant, the food was not quite up to the view. The staff was very attentive however, and that helped a great deal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly pleasant family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My family and are long time visitors to Canmore and have eaten at many a restaurant in town. Tonight we thought we would try something new. My son wanted a steak, my wife a good salad, and me, well I just wanted something well made and tasty. `Lets try Murrieta`s` my wife said. We were not disappointed. Great food that was fresh and unlike the pre-cooked plonk served at so many big chains. The service, provided by Steve, was fast yet courteous and casual.They even had a kids menu! My seven year old daughter had a burger and fresh cut fries. `Wow` she said, `its a real hamburger dad, and the meat` she said, `was perfect - crunchy outside, soft and juicy inside.` Great fries! The root beer braised short ribs likewise were sweat, juicy and delicious with a unique take on creamed parmesan corn niblets that were anything but jolly or green. My wife had the local green salad with a piece of pan seared artic char, that was nearly perfect. I rounded things off with a mediterranean inspired shrimp and scallop fettuccine that was spot on. A bit expensive, but when you consider how nice an experiencewe had, it was well worth it. We`ll be back soon to try the winter menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellant service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just got back from Greece and decided to come to Canmore to relax we found this restaurant and the menu reminded us of the food in Greece Stephen gave us excellant service and we throuoghly enjoy the found and our time there. I would reccomend it to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
518 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Not Nearly as Good as Calgary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have dined at the Calgary namesake many times and had very good food, so thought we would try the Canmore restaurant for lunch. It did not measure up.

We walked up the stairs to a pretty much empty restaurant. There were maybe 3 tables occupied. We were left standing around waiting for someone to come over and seat us.

Finally we were given a table and then left alone - again -- for another 5 minutes. Our waitress did finally come over. Not very personable. Took our order and left for a while again.

We received our appetizer (Lamb meatballs) and then it took another half hour to get our pizza. The meatballs were not very good -- nothing like the ones we have had in Calgary -- and the salami pizza was sadly lacking in salami.

Our waitress became very happy and animated when she brought the bill over. A bit too late for that -- given the service and attention thoughout the meal.

The one positive -- the view from the second story restaurant is beautiful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrieta's Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Murrieta's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing