We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fine Dining”

The Trough Dining Co.
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Fine Dining”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

For fine dining the service was poor. The waiter was not friendly and never smiled. He forgot to bring the wine that one of our guests ordered, and we had to remind him. The braised lamb was light on sauce and underseasoned. The food was unremarkable and overpriced. The atmosphere was mediocre. Overall overpriced for what you get. Oh, and there's no high chair for children. In this day and age that's unacceptable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    55
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“march 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

trying to do fine dining and not quite pulling it off. of a group of 4 some of the food was ok some of it was very good. the decor was impressive as was the pace of service. we thought for the price it did not represent value for money when compared to other eateries in the town. the tables were quite close to one another too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdcedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We dined here for my husband's birthday and it was exactly what we were hoping for. The atmosphere is great, the food was incredible and the service was excellent. We ordered the lamb and the backribs - delicious! It's a little expensive but worth it for a special occasion. I would definitely eat here again - highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly service, fine dining but you pay for it and thats okay. Nice wines that go well with their menu's

Helpful?
Thank Aydin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Been hearing about this place and tried it for a special Valentine's dinner. The food was outstanding and so was the service. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing