We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE ART OF FINE DINING”

The Trough Dining Co.
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE ART OF FINE DINING”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I 've heard so many amazing reviews about this Restaurant from friends and family, we had to try it. From Calgary, we visit Canmore once a year - usually for our anniversary which was last week. We were met by Richard, one of the owners, we later found out after he had served us. A true gentleman and knows how to make you feel so welcome in his wonderful Restaurant. The attention to detail, ambiance, SERVICE is up there with the best of the best. So, the food- Being from Calgary we are very spoiled by some of the best Restaurants in Canada. The Trough is as good if not better than most in the city. My Husband had the Ceviche to start and the jerk spiced Ribs to follow, he still talks about them to this day! I had the Seabass, quite possibly the best fish I've had and I'm in my 50's! Try the sticky toffee pudding, it's out of this world. A world class restaurant in a rustic setting. 5 stars Trough, thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank Ieatwcanada68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    55
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Supper at The Trough”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bit of sticker shock here but a lot of good news. Beautiful dining room that isn't too big and has good standoff between the the tables. Excellent food - had the halibut. They even brought out a couple of complimentary pallet cleansers/small hors d'oeuvres. Servers are obviously well trained and very good at their job. You pay a lot but the Trough definitely makes it very worthwhile. Will be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure excellence”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had heard great things about Trough so came in with high expectations. It is quaint and charming, simple yet elegant dining experience in the Rockies. Most importantly, the service is top notch. Overall food quality is excellent; I must say their ribs are the best I have even had, with no close seconds. Out of this world. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sstn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as always!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a staff get-together at the Trough last month, and weren't dissapointed! Several staff members had never been before and had even been recommending this place because of the rest of our opinions.. let's just say, now they have even more reason to talk! The food was incredible and the service was stellar! They even threw in a complimentary dessert us :)
What a treat it was! We will continue to recommend this place!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scja8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An example of Excellence”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

From the moment we walked through the front door, we sensed the relaxed atmosphere. The service was impeccable, as were our drinks, starters and entrees. For starters I had the caesar salad, which had a deliciously unique dressing and my wife had the asian pear salad; also very tasty and not like any other 'pear salad'. Both were visibly artistic and the taste matched that of its looks, fantastic! For our entrees, I had the Beef Tenderloin, absolutely wonderful; tasty and fork tender, while my wife had the Lamb Shank which she thoroughly enjoyed. Moist and falling off the bone!
As for dessert, we tried the pumpkin carrot cake which unfortunately was a tad on the dry side.

Overall, the ambience, food and drink is a must and we highly recommend it. You can certainly tell that the chef cares what is coming out of his kitchen. We will be back!!
Thank you Trough!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing