We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, ambience & service”

The Trough Dining Co.
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, ambience & service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A fabulous restaurant. Really trendy, but not too busy. The food is top quality and the waiting staff are attentive, polite but not too on your face. The menu was not too large which was great - we had the steak which was the best we had in Canada

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    55
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fine food if a little pretentious”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The title says it. We enjoyed fine food in a humble environment (the porch). The service was good but not what one would expect from a restaurant capable of producing such fine cuisine, and certainly not one charging the prices they do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Okanagantraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Right from the moment you step in you are made to feel so welcome by The owner, Richard or one of his staff. He also has his mom (who I swear does not look old enough to be his mother) and sister working there. They all work so well together to provide a great experience. If he knows your name, Richard makes a point of remembering it, which makes you feel like you are special.

We enjoy the comfortable feeling there and have been there for romantic special occasion dinners or brought friends with us for a fun evening. We really appreciate the little niceties of the Amuse Bouche, a sample of something the chef has prepared, a mouthful served on a bent spoon and the sorbet, palate cleanser between courses. Whenever we are at a loss of which wine to choose, the servers or Richard have made suggestions which have always been perfect for our food choices and our palates.

All in all, we highly recommend this wonderful restaurant. We think the fact that it is tucked away on 9th Street makes it feel all the more non-commercialized and cozy.

Lise and Cam

Helpful?
2 Thank BeezRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“OverRated”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food here is just ok, the service is slow and truly is not that spectaculor at all. Not worth the money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfGuy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of the week”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having eaten at many of the Canmore restaurants while on vacation, this was my family's favorite. Although it was fairly pricey, the meal was worth every penny. Search no further if you are looking for a delicious and inventive meal. The pork belly and scallops are a must, as were the bruschetta and ribs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing