We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining experience”

The Trough Dining Co.
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located just one block away from Main Street.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Right from the moment you step in you are made to feel so welcome by The owner, Richard or one of his staff. He also has his mom (who I swear does not look old enough to be his mother) and sister working there. They all work so well together to provide a great experience. If he knows your name, Richard makes a point of remembering it, which makes you feel like you are special.

We enjoy the comfortable feeling there and have been there for romantic special occasion dinners or brought friends with us for a fun evening. We really appreciate the little niceties of the Amuse Bouche, a sample of something the chef has prepared, a mouthful served on a bent spoon and the sorbet, palate cleanser between courses. Whenever we are at a loss of which wine to choose, the servers or Richard have made suggestions which have always been perfect for our food choices and our palates.

All in all, we highly recommend this wonderful restaurant. We think the fact that it is tucked away on 9th Street makes it feel all the more non-commercialized and cozy.

Lise and Cam

Helpful?
2 Thank BeezRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    55
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“OverRated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food here is just ok, the service is slow and truly is not that spectaculor at all. Not worth the money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfGuy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having eaten at many of the Canmore restaurants while on vacation, this was my family's favorite. Although it was fairly pricey, the meal was worth every penny. Search no further if you are looking for a delicious and inventive meal. The pork belly and scallops are a must, as were the bruschetta and ribs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is fabulous. Every little detail is fine dining. The restaurant well organised with a cozy atmosphere. The staff are über polite and very knowledgable. The food was of the highest quality and cooked to perfection. The wine; divine! My husband and I stumbled across The Trough by accident and were fortunate enough to be offered seats at the bar. From there we watched how they all worked so well together between the kitchen, waiting staff and front of house, it was a pleasure to observe. A truly fine find in a wee mountain town. I'd recommend it to all.

P.S.We have been back and were equally as impressed from a regular table!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnoTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,193 reviews
692 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“The Best Gourmet Dining in Canmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our meal and the service were outstanding. This staff works together as a team and nothing is missed. My husband enjoyed the cherry stuffed chicken breast and I was very pleased with their special ribs. There salads are also excellent. I loved the way they made their red wine Sangria - it was delicious. We sat outside but be sure to go inside to check out the decor in the restaurant and washrooms. We will return!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trough Dining Co. also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Trough Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing