We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not your ordinary mountain town restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Blue - CLOSED

Luna Blue
Price range: $11 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary mountain town restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely meal @ Luna Blue on a Monday night in shoulder season. The restaurant had come recommended by friends and did not disappoint. Simple decore and decorations focused on lunar themes and the baby blue color of the room added to ambiance. Asimple, straight forward menu of a handul of salads and pasta dishes spoke of a kitchen with clear focus. We ordered a spinach salad with two different pasta dishes. We both thoroughly enjoyed out meals and unfortunately did not leave room for the handful of tastey sounding desserts. Good food - Good service - Confy decore- reasonable price. Excellent choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neilcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Best Italian food we've had in a long time. Service was so-so. But the food was outstanding. Went for lunch and got the large plate...didn't have to eat anything for supper that day (Wow) and it was really tasty. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJWca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate at the Luna blue and were pleasantly surprised. The food was wonderful, from the salad and pasta and right down to dessert. It is pricey but so worth it! We recommend the salmon fettuccine for pasta and the apple cake for dessert.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LGDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok place for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The large portion is really large. I feel like they could decrease the overall portions and the price and have a lot better crowd in there as the place was pretty quiet for dinner. Food was fine but not great. Overall an average place for dinner but still about 90$ for 2.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunny Outside Dining & Great Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've been to Luna Blue a few times over the years, but hadn't been for a while, so we decided to go check it out.

We made a reservation to sit outside on a warm, sunny evening and timed it so the sun would round the mountains and shine on us in the early evening. We were not disappointed with anything the pasta, soup, bread and wine we chose were all great!

I love their Pad Thai and their Luna Blue pasta with chicken, garlic, and sun dried tomatoes. Yummy!

One minor challenge sitting outside is the paving stones are sloped for drainage and as a result the outside tables lean to one side. We put something under the table legs to prop it up a bit and that worked for us. It would be nice if they provided a few shims or propped the tables up before they seat people.

If you like garlic, you'll love this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeezRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Blue also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing