We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed breakfast”
Review of Communitea Cafe

Communitea Cafe
Ranked #5 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Downtown canmore's fresh & healthy cafe. We have live music select evenings. Asian Fusion, Breakfast, Sandwiches, Thai, Vegan and Vegetarian
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed breakfast”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here for a light breakfast and to pick up some tea - we shared the huevos rancheros quesadilla and it was very tasty.

On a Sunday morning so close to Christmas, I expected it to be busier, but it was nice and quiet. Food was delicious, there are plenty of tables, chairs and even some really comfy couches if you just want to sit back and relax.

They also have a shelf with some games on it if you're interested in that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wadingmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    107
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good place to lunch or take-away”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Popular cafe with delicious salads and mains, quesadillas being a favourite, with good appetising selection for children. Very good crumble. Because of its popularity there were queues and as everything is prepared to order it did take time however there is good children's play area and they do serve the best coffee. We weren't rushed once our meal arrived and the staff were all friendly, there is outside seating too. A bit expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T00ts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food & Ambiance- Pricey!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I came here on a Tripadvisor ranking & friend recommendation. It is a nice cafe with a wholistic and comfortable atmosphere. I had the curry rice bowl which was great. I was full before getting to the bottom of the bowl. With the curry bowl, a tea, and a 15% tip, it was $20. A bit steep for lunch, I'd say. I would come back for tea but probably not for a $20 lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family friendly place for lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon the recommendation from a friend in Calgary, we had lunch at the Communitea Cafe along with our 2 year old son. Dining out with a toddler can be challenging, but this made it an enjoyable experience. There is a small kids play area with a play kitchen, mega blocks, some board games, kids tables & chairs and plenty of high chairs for seating. There was a kids menu that included a toddler meal, consisting of brown rice, avocado, apple slices and tofu slices, which our toddler ate the entire thing. I ordered the Chipotle Chicken Quesidilla, which was ok, but somewhat uninspired, still tasting good and very fresh. My husband ordered the Pad Thai bowl which was generous in size and very tasty. The food on other people's tables all looked excellent, very healthy and fresh ingredients. A nice break from heavier restaurant foods.

It was a very busy place at lunch, clearly a favorite with locals and tourists alike.

I would highly recommend this for families with young children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBudgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were looking for a place that made good 'big salads' and fresh food, a local told us about this place. Try the Buddha bowl if you like tahini dressing! It was fabulous. We also got several of their baked goods which were good too. The only downside is that they are closed for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlebrownface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Communitea Cafe also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Communitea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing