We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious cupcakes and lattes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Communitea Cafe

Communitea Cafe
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Downtown canmore's fresh & healthy cafe. We have live music select evenings. Asian Fusion, Breakfast, Sandwiches, Thai, Vegan and Vegetarian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious cupcakes and lattes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I had the gluten free green tea icing cupcake and it was like a yoga party in my mouth! Highly recommend. We had an almond milk rooibos tea latte- A+

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Km0t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    102
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is sooo amazing! The atmosphere is fun, the staff are fun, and the food is so healthy and tasty! We always stop to eat here when we are visiting Canmore. Love this place! They also put on musical events which we are very excited to check out.
The only downside is that it can get busy because it is so popular!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wouldn't return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stopped here for a coffee break while walking around town. I found the staff a bit rude, and offstandish... Like I should be grateful to be there? The eating area was cluttered and had a lot of tables full of dirty dishes. It's a very trendy spot where local hippy-hipsters gather to fraternize. I didn't care for the coffee or atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swandive_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our go-to place in Canmore for coffee and healthy meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite the name, I hardly ever have tea there. If I'm spending a day in Canmore or even just on a road trip, I often make a point to stop in at Communitea for a great latte (they serve Intelligentsia coffee), a cookie, or a full meal. It's one of the few places where you don't need to seek out the one or two healthy options for a meal, because pretty much everything on the menu is geared for the health conscious people. The vibe there is always warm and inviting. The only downside might be that due to its sheer popularity, sometimes you might wait in line for a 5-10 minutes just to get your order in, or there isn't a place to sit.

I look forward to also checking this place out on a night when they have a live musician. I highly recommend this place, unless you are the type to crave grease or fast food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High maintenance service but great food in the end.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The brunch menu is small, I asked if they could do just scrambled eggs and toast or something simple. The owner (I presume) proceeded to say that for just me that would be fine but the 'menu is the menu' and for an entire table he wouldn't be prepared to do this and there are lots of bacon and egg places in town. We were 6 people and the place was almost completely empty. He should have asked if the request was just for me( it was ) first, as he could have saved his off-putting speech altogether. I would just go to a bacon and egg place next time, but I must say that the panini without the bread was very tasty in the end. Still, I will steer clear of this place next time the guy made it an annoying experience.
Owner: you should watch the video 'give them the pickle' about customer service if you want to succeed!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kajillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Communitea Cafe also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Communitea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing