We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a Disappointment”

The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I love the beer, the food, the staff, the location. Prices are on par with most pubs/restaurants, and there is nothing special about the facilities. What I mean by this is that it is not too modern or retro. It's a nice looking restaurant with a nice, homey feel. The beer is fantastic and there is a large variety for any beer lover. I stop in every time I go to Canmore.

Definitely worth dropping by. If you want to take any beer or soda home, you can stop by the Paw Shop literally a 30 second walk from the front door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgiro403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    625
    282
    124
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub and eats”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great beer and fabulous food. A place you must drink and eat at!
Very busy so arrive early if going for lunch. Great service and the best part, their beer can be bought on site or at their liquor store. Elk burger is awesome but our entire party loved their food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorkieluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Service, Disappointing Beer and Food, Pricey”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Based on the reviews and the fact that the Grizzly Paw was a brewpub we had high hopes. Unfortunately everyone in our family was a bit disappointed.
First the beer. I tried the IPA and I should have sent it back. It was flat and tasteless, bordering on hopless. My expectations are that a brewpub takes pride in their beer and ensures quality of every pour.
The food came fast and hot, but missed the mark even though it showed potential. We tried the candied bacon. It was over the top sweet and almost inedible. The wings were also too sweet. The elk burger's taste was overpowered by more sweetness from the balsamic onions and strong goat cheese. The kids pizza was minuscule and looked completely out of proportion on the vast bed of fries. The mountain ruffage salad was average.
One the plus side our server was attentive, pleasant and efficient.
Overall we felt a bit like we were in a tourist trap with that standard formula of high prices, average food and efficient table turnover.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KootenayKuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegreville Alberta
Level Contributor
447 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“"Fairly Decent"”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A group of eight of us stopped by for a meal at this place. we were quickly seated upstairs in a cozy corner of the room. Service was quick, friendly and efficient. Our refreshement were always topped up without asking. our wiatress was very accomodating and ensured our orders were exactly as we wanted. Not one of us had anything bad to say about the place or the food. The brew was fairly good as it looked like a few pints were downed over the hour or so we stayed here. All in all no issues.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local brew pub”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always crowded which tells you all. It is on main street and is local brewed ale with good pub food. The patio is a favourite in summer too - see and be seen. The pub has an upstairs and downstairs and turns over fairly quickly so do not be put off by a line-up. The beers are great and the brewery is expanding with its own larger brewery opened near the highway. The taster tray of beers is a good buy if you have not tried the Grizzly Paw ales before. The food is just good pub food and plenty of it. The burgers are great and some of the varieties are well worth trying - different meats. The appetizers are excellent too particularly the sirloin tips. This is probably the best pub and pub food and beer in town (and the area for that matter) and explains why it is always full. We have gone with babies and children all of which have been handled easily yet it does have the requisite pool table etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibylla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing