We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, poor food, poor service, indifferent manager”

The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company
Ranked #17 of 122 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good beer, poor food, poor service, indifferent manager”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Ordered a pitcher or beer--it was very good. My daughter had the kids pizza and she ate all of it. I had the salmon sandwich - it was good, but the half fries/half salad side was all fries. My wife had the nachos - they were overcooked until the cheese was dried to within an inch of it's life, she added the "ground beef" which was a frozen patty chopped into thumbnail sized chunks. The server inquired as to what we expected her to do about the frazzled nachos, and apparently checked with the manager who graciously allowed us to purchase the "ground beef" at half price, but expected payment in full for the inedible nacho plate.

We've eaten here several times before in the last few years and it was very good. Things have changed for the worse since our last visit.

Don't order the nachos --- or, better yet, go somewhere else

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    672
    295
    132
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Liked the root beer - but average food & kids don't belong in a pub”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Enjoyed the home-made soda pop - if it was a little later in the day I might have sampled the beer too.

Food was okay, not great value for money, to be honest it wasn't much better tasting than fast food.

Didn't enjoy having kids all around for lunch, I assume they're not allowed in during the evening, but it's one thing to go to a pub and have a nice time, but quite another to have a crying baby and fighting kids at nearby tables. That's the downside of Canmore, too family friendly, but I can tolerate in small doses I suppose.

Probably wouldn't go back, there are better places for lunch in Canmore. Definitely would not go here for dinner, menu was all pub fare.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflower7829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had their special of the night, brat and Rutting Elk Red beer. Both were excellent. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the hamburger. The ambiance is woodsy and comfortable. The prices are in keeping with the rest of the area restaurants

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Canmore staple”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I love this place, pricey but an authentic micro brewery with excellent beers and soft drinks. The food is great too. Its a must visit if you visit Canmore. Staff are always friendly

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank dean0rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beer!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I really enjoyed the Grumpy Bear ale and a yummy fish & chips.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank petrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing