We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge
Ranked #20 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Housed in a Rustic log building in the Rockies, we offer creative cuisine rooted in French Bistro style with Canadian and Worldly influences. Our Wine Lounge offers small plates, sharing platters, 14 different cheeses, charcuterie and an extensive wine by the glass program.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just loved the food here..... the roasted vegetable platter was divine and the soup of the day was smoked trout and seafood chowder...delicious!
The staff was very friendly and helpful and genuinely wanted to make sure we enjoyed our entire meal and experience..it was great.
The only thing I would like to see would be more available wines by the glass....but, not to worry too much, there were a couple I had trouble deciding over....
I would definitely go again...next time I'm in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    136
    50
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and ambiance...gotta have dessert!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dropped into Sage without a reservation and luckily someone had no-showed their booking so we lucked out an got a table. Wine list had a Carminere - my fave. My meal was delish - very tasty lamb but the piece de resistance has to be their decadent chocolate dessert. We went back the next night just to get dessert! A trio of chocolate perfection - mousse, pot de creme and a gooey cakey delight. Friendly staff and cute bunnies muching grass outside! Book ahead if you want the dining room. There is an upstairs bistro as an alternative. We only dined in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoundWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Canmore Local, recommends Sage Wine Lounge”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of my favorite places to enjoy great wine and appetizers upstairs in the Wine Lounge. Amazing views. Cute funky atmosphere. Sunsets views are spectacular. Great selection of appetizers to share with friends on one of the outside decks or inside on the cute couches! Great cheese selection as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canmoreandersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey Shocker!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I was really excited to try The Sage Bistro, after hearing many great things about it. The outcome of my first experience was so terrible that I may never return. The service was unbelievably slow considering we were one of two tables in the restaurant. The menu consists of overpriced Canmore cuisine, with little pricing so you just blindly guess at the costs. This was the biggest disappointment for me. My two glasses of wine were over $50! I would have preferred my waiter to for warn me, or maybe suggest I just buy the bottle. Lesson learned, I will definitely ask next time, obviously my server didn't care too much about my satisfaction, just the amount of money in their pocket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idine, Owner at Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I'm not sure what menus/wine list you were looking at but every single item clearly has a price stated next to it? It's disappointing to us that you didn't take the time to look at the prices before you ordered. We do not make up random prices for different wines or food items based on how we feel that day. In fact each item is priced using a formula based purely on what the item costs us to purchase. Without a mark-up, we wouldn't be able stay open, turn on the lights or compensate our stellar staff. Different wines cost us varying amounts and so will the prices stated on the wine list. We also offer 3 different size glass pours in our beautiful wine lounge for you to decide from. This allows you to have a taste of 3oz or you can have a glass of 6oz or if you are sure you like a wine we have a 9oz pour as well. We have 2 wines on our list that are in the $22-24 for a 9oz pour. This is likely what you had if your 2 glasses came to about $50. So out of a bottle, which is 26oz, you had about 3/4 of a bottle. Those 2 wines are priced at $66 per bottle so you wouldn't have been better off ordering a bottle as we do not markup our glass pours more than the bottle like some restaurants do. When you order a glass of wine we have no idea how many you are going to have so we can't "warn" you of circumstances we are unaware of. The only "lesson to learn" would be to read the menu/list and stated pricing so you can make your choices based on your budget and what you would like to spend. We have a few gems in our cellar that are over $500 so we are glad you didn't pick those wines. Our staff do an excellent job caring, serving and entertaining our guests and have a great clientele that return frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, charming atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Skip eating in Banff and go here!!! Take exit 89 and it's on Bow Valley Trail at the corner of 17th St. Can't miss the log cabin! Top notch organic ingredients ensure flavorful food at a reasonable price. Upstairs is a wine lounge with beautiful views, incredible cheese, tapas - YOU WILL LOVE IT!! We had a late lunch - 4:45 so possibly the prices were less on the lunch menu. I had the risotto with flank steak (Large portions) - the best I've ever had - for $22.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing