We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, very disappointing main course” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge

Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge
Ranked #19 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Housed in a Rustic log building in the Rockies, we offer creative cuisine rooted in French Bistro style with Canadian and Worldly influences. Our Wine Lounge offers small plates, sharing platters, 14 different cheeses, charcuterie and an extensive wine by the glass program.
Bowen Island, Canada
1 review
“Good service, very disappointing main course”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lamb shanks were very small portions and tough or cooked and reheated. Pork tenderloin was over cooked and again, tough. The small potatoes appeared to be reheated and tasteless.
The service was good and when we complained, one dinner was not charged for and complimentary deserts, which were good, were brought to table. We would have preferred to have the quality meal we thought we were paying for rather than attempts to appease us for the restaurants's shortcomings. Very disappointing !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idine, Owner at Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. I can only respond to this review with the following two points too make you aware of a few facts. Lamb shank is a cut of the animal that must be braised for a very long time to produce a tender outcome. We braise our lamb for a minimum of 5 hours. So yes, it is well cooked and then re-heated to order as I don't think you are willing to wait 5-6 hours for your meal to arrive. The fingerling potatoes have great flavour and again we pre-blanch them as it would take too long for them to be cooked to order.

I'm sorry to hear your pork was over cooked....this could have been solved with a re-do of the pork in a few minutes.

Were glad you enjoyed the service and dessert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    134
    50
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriends and I spent a weekend in Canmore receiently for our birthdays. We asked around, researched and were told that SAGE was one of the top 3 restaurants in Canmore. We spent the Saturday at the spa and everyone we told that we were going to SAGE said "ohhhh good choice!!" After the spa we got all dressed up and went, what a disappointment, the space was nice but not fancy at all, the wait staff were wearing sneakers, the other customers were dressed so casually I felt uncomfortable and very over dressed. I ordered the Onion soup to start and it was greasy and very hard to get down. My main course was the lamb shank and it was over cooked and dry. My friend ordered the striploin and it was also over cooked and dry, hers came with pommes frites and they were greasy. My whole party left disappointed and down, this is something we had looked forward to and came away wishing we went someplace else. I will never recommend this restaurant and will steer people elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had Sunday brunch at Sage Bistro and it was very good. 2 of us had the eggs benedict and a side of banana bread french toast and the other 2 had the Three Sisters breakfast. Everything was delicious, there was a ton of food, and it was fast and fairly well priced. We will be back for sure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryRed17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“almost, not quite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went with 5 old age male skiers. Was extremely busy so we went upstairs to the lounge for apps and wine. The chefs choice antipasto was brilliant. The wine was reasonably priced. Service was very good.

An hour later went down to the dining room and was set at a nice table. We ordered mains. Two had lamb shanks and were pleased, I had pork tenderloin which was overcooked and dry, one had macaroni and cheese which he liked and the other had duck confit which was good.

Service again was good.

I think that the restaurant has lots of experience and lots of potential, it just didn't close the deal.

Not to say Iwouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdnskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Sevice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Menu has good variety with reasonable prices. Tasty food! Good choices of wine. We enjoyed our evening and the server helped make it so.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank L-n-L_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing