We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge

Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge
1712 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
1 403-678-4878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 113 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian, Gluten Free, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Housed in a Rustic log building in the Rockies, we offer creative cuisine rooted in French Bistro style with Canadian and Worldly influences. Our Wine Lounge offers small plates, sharing platters, 14 different cheeses, charcuterie and an extensive wine by the glass program.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On the recommendation of a barkeep at a local pub, my partner and I visited the Sage for a light evening meal after a day on the ski slopes. We went upstairs to the wine lounge which is casual dining (as opposed to downstairs which was formal and definately needed a booking). The atmosphere was excellent. Great wine selection and we chose the Sage Antipasto plate for our meal. It was excellent and just the perfect size for 2. The service was impressive and attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    114
    44
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the Pate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went with friends and sat up stairs, I was so impressed with the place! Amazing decor, wonderful service and a life changing menu.
The Foie Gras & Chicken Liver pate is easily the most delicious thing I have ever ate. Try a little of everything its all good.
Amazing wine selection, the Champagne is wonderful to start and the selection of reds is to die for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quinnfynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Chic Lounge With Original Flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The sage was a decent spot to stop and nibble on a few things while enjoying a glass of wine over conversation. The menu had some very different flavors, and made use of a host of different ingredients. I had the pulled pork tacos, which came with a few traditional ingredients, but also incorporated avocado and different cheeses. I found it very tasty and it came with home made spicy mayo sauce. I thought it was quite zesty.
The service was good, I didnt go without anything. The environment was good, and the building was definitely created with the spirit of the rockies in mind. I would go back again, I'd like to try out some other items on the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvanPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful night out, with great views from the upper level of this restaurant. Chose the upper, wine bar floor for a relaxed, tapas-type dining experience (downstairs is a la carte traditional dining). All of our food was fantastic, the wine selection was extensive, and the service was excellent. A great night out for couples or groups.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank revykiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sage Bistro has a modern country look inside, very nice. The service was excellent and we were given many good recommendations and advice. Did you know that Elk was not a graded meat like beef? We hadn't heard anything about the restaurant, so came with no expectations. Our group ordered elk, beef, lamb and fish. All were fantastic. I had had lamb the night before at a "fine dining" restaurant and this was far superior. The presentation was beautiful and the dessert amazing. The creme brule came in 3 separate bowls in 3 flavours. Wow! It was the best meal we had in the Banff area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seijung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing