We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Chic Lounge With Original Flavor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge

Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Housed in a Rustic log building in the Rockies, we offer creative cuisine rooted in French Bistro style with Canadian and Worldly influences. Our Wine Lounge offers small plates, sharing platters, 14 different cheeses, charcuterie and an extensive wine by the glass program.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Chic Lounge With Original Flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The sage was a decent spot to stop and nibble on a few things while enjoying a glass of wine over conversation. The menu had some very different flavors, and made use of a host of different ingredients. I had the pulled pork tacos, which came with a few traditional ingredients, but also incorporated avocado and different cheeses. I found it very tasty and it came with home made spicy mayo sauce. I thought it was quite zesty.
The service was good, I didnt go without anything. The environment was good, and the building was definitely created with the spirit of the rockies in mind. I would go back again, I'd like to try out some other items on the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvanPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    129
    50
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful night out, with great views from the upper level of this restaurant. Chose the upper, wine bar floor for a relaxed, tapas-type dining experience (downstairs is a la carte traditional dining). All of our food was fantastic, the wine selection was extensive, and the service was excellent. A great night out for couples or groups.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank revykiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sage Bistro has a modern country look inside, very nice. The service was excellent and we were given many good recommendations and advice. Did you know that Elk was not a graded meat like beef? We hadn't heard anything about the restaurant, so came with no expectations. Our group ordered elk, beef, lamb and fish. All were fantastic. I had had lamb the night before at a "fine dining" restaurant and this was far superior. The presentation was beautiful and the dessert amazing. The creme brule came in 3 separate bowls in 3 flavours. Wow! It was the best meal we had in the Banff area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seijung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Arrived around 11:30 and had no problems getting a table. French influenced dishes with a fresh, light touch. Service was friendly and efficient. My husband started with the soup of the day - zucchini chowder - very nice. We both had smoked-trout sandwich. I had mine with pomme frites -yummy fries- and he had a salad with his. It's an open-faced sandwich with we did not expected but was delicious. Our daughter has quiche and French onion soup and she said it was good too. There is also a unique selection of loose-leaf teas. Nice meal; we would definitely stop by next time we're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgary4togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My spouse and I ate at Sage recently, probably our fifth or sixth time there. Each time, we are not disappointed. The view is beautiful, I don't think there is a bad seat in the house. The service is always friendly and attentive, and the food is consistently excellent. They have a good selection of wine as well. Overall, very good quality for the money, and a place that we will continue to return to!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idine, Owner at Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello, thanks for taking the time to review Sage and your continued support and visits! We strive everyday to please our guests and it is always nice to hear positive feedback and encouragement! If your visiting this winer please check out or Winter features we will be launching in the coming weeks. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Sage Bistro & Wine Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing