We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't Disappoint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Francois Restaurant

Chez Francois Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Didn't Disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I went here on Oct 28th to celebrate our anniversary.
We each had the three course dinner.
My wife ordered snails (I cannot spell escargot) as the appetizer, chicken St Jacques and chocolate mousse.
I had pate, pork with a maple glaze and chocolate mousse.
(I am getting hungry again as I type)
My wife said the snails were gritty as if they had not cleaned them. the man course was very good with chicken, shrimp and one scallop.
My pate was excellent, they make it there. The maple glaze on the pork was outstanding.
We both liked the mousse for dessert.
One glass of wine, one coke, tea and coffee and the two three course meals with tip was just over $100.00. Not an unreasonable price for a touristy town like Canmore.

Would I go back? Definitely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    144
    47
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“not really up to its reputation...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

we made plans specifically to stop there for lunch but were quite disappointed, probably because we heard a lot about how good this restaurant was. Perhaps the Dinner menu is a little more sophisticated than the Brunch/Lunch. overall pretty standard food/services. Not an unforgettable place.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SGB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was very good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant as the nearest to Econolodge, we liked a menue, service was good, food was very nice, pices- affordable, nice atmosphere, but no more visitors... we were alone which is pity to the restaurant !Sure they would like to serve the clients....it might because of mid-season

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElenaE1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant is over rated !!!!!!!! Service is awful and the food matches the service. We went there because of locals recommendations. We ordered the eggs benny, it came cold, it took 20 minutes to get waited on, no extra coffee and so on. We went back because we thought it's just a bad day for them. Again, we tried the eggs benny same thing, cold, no extra coffee and the service was less than poor. We will never be back. If you want great eggs benny take the extra time and go to the Bison in Banff it's the best and well worth the extra 20 min drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastcoaster6368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. Service was slow due to staffing no-shows. However, we were not in a hurry so didn't affect our experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francois Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Chez Francois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing