We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub

Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #53 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Excellent pub food, awesome fish and chips and excellent service!!! Has been my favorite since I moved to Canmore, always awesome food and great service, never had on bad experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    118
    45
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our car drives there automatically it's that good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Every time we visit Canmore, this is our FIRST stop for a tall brew and fish and chips on the outstanding deck. The service is wonderful and the food amazing traditional UK cuisine. The view of the mountains is soothing if it is just the two or you, or a great backdrop for chatter with friends. Inside is cozy and charming. The prices are very reasonable. We always go at least twice each time we are in town (from OKLAHOMA!)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank tnroses4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
239 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great beer, Great food, Great view, just 'great'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This pub was recommended to us by our server when we were in Tofino, Vancouver Island, because she had previously worked there. Located at the end of the main street, there is little external noise and, although the outdoor seating area is large, the tables are well-spaced apart so there is no feeling of being crowded. There is a good selection of beers (I recommend the locally brewed traditional ale) and the range of pub food is excellent. Service is friendly and efficient and on the second day, our server recognised us. (We had not misbehaved! - Honest!) The views of the surrounding mountains are outstanding and this pub is to be commended for its location, ambiance, service and food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Highlander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Patio in town!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Amazing patio location and their service is fast and efficient. Most of the servers are friendly! Prizes not thru the roof - a rarity in Canmore.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“Comparable with a British pub in that it sells beer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were looking for a place to see some rugby during the World Cup and with no more than a hope that Canada’s participation would generate some coverage we thought that a pub with “traditional English fare” would possibly be our best bet.

There is a large bar and a lounge and as there were multiple televisions in the bar that’s where we headed. It had fairly basic surroundings and a small gathering of mostly male clientele were having a beer and watching Monday night American Football. It’s not the kind of place to bring the kids or someone on a first date (if you want a second one).

When the friendly waitress handed us the dog-eared menus we didn’t raise our hopes and we weren’t disappointed. The food was basic pub grub. I had fish & chips and my wife had a “Crown burger”, followed by a pineapple dessert and our bill was CAN$27 (£17). I’ve tasted far better fish & chips (this had too much batter/too little fish) but my wife thought the burger and the desert were ok.

The rugby highlights were not shown on any of the screens and as we departed I got a quick glance into the lounge which looked a bit like a traditional “diner“ and perhaps that‘s where families go. Whether the food served in there differs I don’t know but we didn’t feel tempted enough to come back and try at a later date.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing