We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
37
57
24
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
57
24
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomboth bedroomsthorough cleaningski holidaytwo coupleswifi signalwell equipped kitchenview from the balconybeds were comfortableice machinesecond bedroomvisiting banffchecking inlake louiseensuitecondobbq
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 150 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Of all the places we stayed on our trip to the Banff area, the Fire Mountain Lodge was a favorite. I really was blown away by the accomodations for the price that we paid. (I believe we paid just over $500 for 2 nights.) We had 5 adults in a 2-bedroom condo and it was perfect. We all couldn't believe how beautiful and stylishly decorated it was. And the amenities were outstanding. The upstairs had a kitchen, living room area with fireplace and TV, a dining room are with table, 1/2 bath, and a laundry room with washer and dryer. There was also a patio off the main living area with table and chairs and a BBQ. We had a lovely view of the Three Sisters mountain range from there. The down side if any of this property is that it is located right behind a car dealership. But believe me, you'll soon forget about that when you see the view.
The kitchen had a gorgeous granite countertop and all other things you would have in your kitchen at home, including a dishwasher. The couch in the living room area was also a pullout and very comfy. The 2 bedrooms were downstairs and each was quite large and had an attached full bath and a walkout patio area with chair.
There were 3 flat-screen TVs in the condo-1 in the living room area and 1 in each bedroom. Each bathroom was stocked with Aveda products which was a lovely touch.
We enjoyed spending time in our condo so much that we didn't even use the on-site hot tub.
My only complaint, a minor one, is that no one was in the office to greet us when we arrived. The company that owns Fire Mountain Lodge owns a few other similar type properties nearby and the staff go between them. But when they arrived they were very pleasant and helpful.
Overall, we had an amazing stay in Canmore at the Fire Mountain Lodge. The condos are outstanding and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

First off this property could be so much better if a couple things changed.

They need more staff or at least one staff member there all the time. Every time we called with a question or concern we would would NEVER get through and have to leave a message or keep calling the local number instead of zero. At night there is no staff, only a security guard on duty.

The cleaning staff should make up beds and clean a bit, but they only plop towels down on the counter and take out the trash. That is it...nothing more. They didn't even take our wet towels out of the bath tub.

The front desk check in is hard to see and is not made clear for when you first get there. It's a guessing game to find check in.

Things they can't change, but make it less high end.

One side backs onto a finished parking lot for a dinner theatre that has tour buses at times in the lot ( 6 at a time idling). The far right hand side has major construction going on right now and would be annoying on a week day. The other side backs onto a dirty gravel unfinished lot. Not the nicest view.

We had some young men ( big group) stay in one of the suites and they were up till 3am being totally loud and obnoxious. We have a toddler and needed to sleep. The rules state they pride themselves on quiet time between 11pm and 8am. Security went, but only once and never really succeeded in getting them to go inside and quiet down. The same group threw up all over the stairs of the building and threw beer cans all over the property which were not cleaned up for two days. They also spat all over our SUV which was so disgusting.

So, I'm sorry, but this is not what I expect from a luxury property (which they state they are).

they never comped us antyhing or tried to make our stay better after this horrid situation with our neighbours.

The space is great and and it is nice to have laundry and three bathrooms etc. Wireless computer connections are good too. But the cons outweigh the pros for us this time around.

Will never stay here again due to feeling unsafe with partying guests.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank swankmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

What a beautiful hotel. My husband and I are picky and we were both impressed. Fireplace, great kitchen, 2 floors, washer/dryer, dishwasher, pots and pans. 2 and a half baths. Breathtaking views.
Small inconvienences: although we were given laundry detergent upon asking, we were informed that it was't common procedure although it is stated on their information sheet that it is provided.
dirty kettle
dull cutting knives
toilets that clogged up easily(but were quickly taken care of by the friendly staff)
as stated before, floor to floor windows that are not completely draped
We will definitely stay here again or at one of their other properties in B.C.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank tokyogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights. Really fantastic location with views of "Three Sisters". Plenty of room for 5 of us and top quality furnishings throughout. Cost us $1,315 incl taxes. Used the small gym and the hot tub which were excellent. Town is small but there is a large Safeway superstore for all you need and Banff is only about 15 miles away. Used the Information Centre on the outskirts of town and they gave us pointers on where to go for river-rafting on the Kananaskis River which was great fun. Take the opportunity to visit Lake Minniwanka if you have time - absolutely spectacular views. Would have no hesitation in returning to the accommodation or recommending it to family and friends alike.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Santana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Got off to a bad start when we arrived to find a notice on the door informing guests that check-in had been transferred to The Lodges at Canmore, which is a block down from Fire Mountain. The resort was empty for the majority of our stay so this was perhaps unsurprising. When we enquired if we would be able to use the facilities at the Lodges of Canmore (they have an outdoor heated pool with lovely views of the Three Sisters Peaks) we were told no, and the receptionist simply shrugged her shoulders when we asked why when we were expected to share their reception.

As it happens, the hot tub at Fire Mountain was not working for the majority of our stay so we were finally granted permission to use the pools at both the Lodges at Canmore and Bellstars other sister resort Mystic Springs.

The interiors were clean, almost new, cosy and well equiped. Avoid the unit at the far end of the building as it is much smaller than the others. Our two bed condo had one and a half baths although most of the units have two full baths and one half bath and the second bedroom barely had enough room to walk round the bed. The rest of our party had larger condos, which were much more spacious, for the same rate.

The cleaning staff were also borrowed from the other resorts meaning sporadic service. We stayed for almost two weeks and there was no full service and linen change, only garbage removal and clean towels daily, if we were lucky. A full service is available at a charge, this is not the norm for accommodation of this type.

If you are staying here mid-week, in the off season then save yourselves the endless trips to the Lodges at Canmore and stay there instead.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews