We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful! Going back again for sure!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Lodge
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful! Going back again for sure!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Fire Mountain was beautiful. The hotel was spotless and the room was very modernized. The size was perfect for the few days that we were there. Fully stocked kitchen, huge patio with BBQ and gorgeous interior. I would most definitely suggest this hotel to people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samxo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fire Mountain Lodge.

All the best,

-Adrian,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
59
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We've been here before and just love this place! Very classy, and it's a great deal when sharing the rooms with other couples as this means you can have the whole place for less than it would cost if you were renting 3 separate rooms in a hotel. These suites are gorgeous! TVs in the bedrooms and living room, nicely appointed bathrooms, and a very clean, well stocked kitchen. This is good for a large group as it gets very expensive to feed everyone at restaurants all the time, and this way you have the option of dining in or out. They are close to shopping centers and food stores (this is Canmore... it's not exactly huge!) and if you don't feel like driving all the way to Banff for your hot springs adventure then you just go downstairs to the (clean) hot tub that's on-site.
The guy that runs the office is really friendly and super-helpful...sorry, didn't get his name...but any little question or thing you need, he was there for it. Thanks for the top-up on Aveda (SWEET!) bathroom products, by the way!
Overall, I cannot say one bad thing about our stay there, will definitely recommend this resort to anyone who wants to have a luxuriously affordable stay while visiting the Banff/Canmore area.
Oh yeah, there was one minor complaint, there's no ice cubes on site so be prepared to buy your own. Or plan ahead and bring your own ice cube tray (we did) as this may not seem important as you read this, but when you're on holidays and you just finish unpacking and then want to settle down to an ice cold drink...Then it hits home just how important those little cubes can be! Scotch with water? Dash the thought!
We'll be back! Count on it!

Room Tip: Don't forget to use your AMA/CAA card or ask for a better rate if you've stayed there before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeefster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Fire Mountain Lodge during easter week. I was warmly welcomed upon my arrival . Even though the hotel was very busy.. we heard nothing from the neighbors. The condo had everything one could ask for, including a washer and dryer in the unit. The hot tub is quite warm albeit small. The parking is also very tight. I was traveling with my aged parents and so need a little extra parking space to accommodate their walkers. We had a three bedroom unit and we found it very spacious and clean. We would definetaly both recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: If traveling with elderly people ask for end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind & positive review of Fire Mountain Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next opportunity to stay in Canmore. We will endeavour to accommodate you in an end suite to best suit your parents.

Kind regards,

Adrian B.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

I experienced check - in with a call to my cell-phone mid - day with directions and codes for access to our 2 bdrm suite on 2nd floor. Very convenient knowing you were expected. The rooms with ensuite bathrooms were great for grandparents - and parents - with small infant. The barbeque worked well - and kitchen was equipped for meal preparation. View from the balcony - and upper bedroom were as expected.
The climb up the stairs to the entrance and the second level was part of the physical excercise that we were seeking and needing. The ventilation system worked well and could be turned off to provide extreme quiet. Would certainly check availability again and appreciated the service as needed for extra towels and dish soap.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms closest to stairs most conv
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowindown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed all the exercise and wonderful views that Fire Mountain Lodge and Canmore have to offer. We hope we can be given the opportunity to welcome you back at Fire Mountain Lodge.

Safe Travels,

-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The bbq and kettle were filthy dirty and the microwave did not work. While they were quick to come and have the bbq cleaned and the kettle replaced, we were left wondering what else could go wrong. The walls are also dirty and in need of a fresh coat of paint. There were spindles loose in the railing and the floor creaked like an old home. There were water stains in behind the toilet and the toilet brush was just left on its own on the floor in each bathroom. Our radio in the master had a nice layer of dust, and there was some countertop missing from the kitchen. There are some positives...the deck is large (although there is a nice view of a car dealership). The living room is a good size , there appears to be good soundproofing and there is vaulted ceilings in each of the bedrooms. The description says each room has a tv, when only 2 bedrooms in ours did. The rooms are tight to get around hhe bed, but do offer decent views. There is no restaurant or pool and you would have to cross the highway to get into town if you are walking. We will definitely never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choochie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
I was disappointed to read about your experience at our property. We have since carried out our periodic deep cleans of the suites, which includes items like de-scaling the kettle and removing marks on the walls. We have also replaced the microwave. All issues pointed out were taken up and addressed by our housekeeping and maintenance staff. I appreciate you pointing out some positives, and I will have our room description adjusted for the 3 bedroom suites to highlight that only 2 bedrooms have TV's. Your feedback is important to us, and as noted we have addressed your concerns with our team.

Kind regards,

-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We decided to stay at the Fire Mountain Lodge after receiving a bellstar resorts gift card. To say the least it was very disappointing. The photos online look very nice and we expected good things after reading the reviews.

The parking is awful, the stalls are so small that most cars were taking up two spots, so we had to park on the street. We were told if there was no attendant at the front office to go across the street the their sister hotel to even check in, when we tried to phone ahead and speak to someone no one would answer the phone. When we got to the hotel room, the place looked nice until we saw the big stains on the place mats and the hand prints, dirt on the walls and dust everywhere. We went upstairs to the bedrooms where in one bedroom there wasn't even enough room to get the door shut. The medicine cabinet in the en suite bathroom had crusted on dirt and hair in it. There was no place to put your luggage, no chair or luggage rack or anything. The TV remotes in both bedrooms had dead batteries, so we had to switch the channels manually or take the batteries form the main level TV remote with us to the bedroom. The microwave was broken, the kettle had hard water scale and dirt on the inside to the point where I refused to use it. The closet doors were broken. They want you to gather all your own garbage and bag it and put it outside in the garbage bins.

Overall I will never be returning to this hotel. I do not recommend it to anyone. There is much better accommodations in Canmore then this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinTorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFML, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
I was sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay at Fire Mountain Lodge. We recently carried out our periodic deep cleans of the suites which addressed many of your concerns. I took up the points you made with our housekeeping and maintenance teams and each of your concerns were noted and corrected, such as the replacement of the microwave. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback and providing us with the opportunity to see where we didn’t reach our own high standards and expectations, on that occassion. We work hard to ensure our guests complete satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Adrian Bollard
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Pros -
Great view
Large private deck
Private BBQ
Well equipped kitchen
Nice open kitchen/living room
Hot tub
Pet friendly

Cons -
Check in and condo personnel are not onsite but across the street @ Mystic Springs
Parking was only 1 stall, the rest was on a gravel parking lot
Hot tub is small, fits only 8 people, no pool
3 bedroom condo rooms are extremely squishy
Garbage/recycling wasn't collected - which is fine if there's a place for us to take our garbage/recycling. Our bins were overflowing

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pukeycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools
0.4 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.8 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Property: Fire Mountain Lodge
Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore
Fire Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing