We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Stella Alpina B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Alpina B&B
Ranked #6 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed with Carmelo and Anneke a few days ago and had a wonderful experience. Their home is spacious, homely, and welcoming. I stayed in the Flower room which was large, with a nice bathroom, and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was fantastic as others have noted. Carmelo makes a wonderful omelette with wild mushrooms and edible flowers on the side. Fresh baked breads and fruits were laid out with ample coffee and tea on hand. You basically leave the home in the morning with a wonderfully full stomach. The location is perfect as well -- it's a 2 min walk from the main street in Canmore (restaurants and shops) and is right beside very nice walking paths that lead to a beautiful river (great for a stroll in the evening).

The best part however are Anneke and Carmelo. Carmelo unexpectedly greeted me in the driveway as I pulled up with a big smile on his face. They are both extremely warm and welcoming and did whatever they could to make my stay pleasant. Carmelo was very helpful in planning my excursions, suggesting biking and hiking routes, giving me maps that he marked up, and letting me borrow his parks pass. I showed up in Canmore with just a rough idea of what I wanted to do and Carmelo helped me to solidify my plans.

If I return to the Rockies I will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Flower room, which is slightly below ground, but was spacious, with a good sized bat...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Stella Alpina B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed three days as guests in the house from Anneke and Carmello. It was a great experience for us. The familiar atmosphere in this b&b let us enjoy our stay and the legendary ommeletes ensure a perfect start of the day. We get a warm welcome on our arrivial by Carmello.
Each room has its own extra and personal charme. We got a lot of tips to create a perfect day with a mixture of hiking ans sightseeing. Ask your hosts ans you'll get really the infos you need!
And please, don't eat your cucumber at breakfast by yourself...Nuska will thank you :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Must be the best B&B in town! Spacious room, nice and tidy. A Bed and Breakfast with a personal touch! Anneke and Carmello are great hosts providing us with all the help needed to get around and visit the greatest spots. Breakfast is the best with great ommeletes. Worth a visit!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon our third trip to Canmore Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, we received the same warm and wonderful reception from Carmelo and Anneke at Stella Alpina B&B as always. The rooms are charming, spotlessly clean, and have many little extras that are convenient and rewarding for traveling couples looking for romance, comfort, and privacy. Each morning the breakfast is lovingly and individually prepared with homemade baked goods, fresh omelets, fruit, and delicious beverages. Conversation with travelers from around the world is interesting and enlightening. Carmelo often shares excellent ideas about hiking and sightseeing and helps his guests find just the activities for which they have interest. Anneke has beautiful flowers and herbs growing in their gardens..some of which are alpine varieties that most travelers won't see anywhere else. Their
House is located a few steps from the beautiful Bow River and countless trails with mountains
On all sides. Stella Alpina is centrally located for day trips to many Canadian National Parks.
It is our dream trip! Debbie and Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeblow60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great unique b and b . Anneke and Carmelo are very interesting and gracious hosts. The rooms are very roomy and clean.with an attached ensuite. a wonderful full breakfast is served in the morning. it is a great place to stay for one nite or perhaps an extented stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynnekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very friendly hosts who provide good advice on planning day trips in the nearby national parks.
The B&B is on walking distance from Canmore city centre where there are lots of restaurants.

Our room was very large and spotless. Breakfast was mouthwatering.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you like meeting people, like your B&Bs to have character, and want a great holiday - we recommend Anneke and Carmelo's beautiful home. It's just a short walk from the town centre, in a very quiet, residential spot. Our hosts were absolutely delightful - very open-hearted, generous and interesting folk. They are well-travelled themselves, and have provided every comfort for their gueste. Their breakfasts are quite delicious - Anneke's wild mushroom omellettes are fabulous - and they are very willing to help you in any way possible - lovely people!
If you are a celiac - I'd recommend them even more highly - they took a great amount of triuble to provide safe yet superb meals!

Room Tip: All are lovely!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.2 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Alpina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Alpina B&B

Address: 1009 9 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range: $90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Canmore bed and breakfast is close to Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. Enjoy Dutch/Italian hospitality at Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast in Canmore, Alberta, Canada. Stella Alpina B & B is located just five minutes from Banff National Park and twenty minutes from Banff town site in the majestic Canadian Rockies. Anneke and Carmelo, your hosts, welcome you to their mountain home in Canmore where you will enter a world of uniquely Canadian crafted woodwork. Stella Alpina bed and breakfast is hidden away from the traffic and noise, but is just a short 2 – 5 minute walk from downtown Canmore(map). Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast is in a peaceful wooded area of Canmore and wildlife corridor where the beautiful Bow River rushes nearby and the breath-taking views of the Canadian Rockies surround you, a perfect hidden retreat for honeymooners and celebrating anniversaries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina B&B Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing