We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a relaxing break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Crest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location for a relaxing break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent 5 days at Falcon Crest in a 1-bdrm unit and the accommodation was exactly what we needed for a family of 3. The hot tub was brilliant after a day of skiing and the kitchen and BBQ suited our family's needs. Bonus was the ski equipment lock-up in the underground parking.

There are a number of great restaurants in Canmore too! The staff were very helpful, and the only downside was the cleaning wasn't really up to standards.

Overall, would recommend for a quiet location to check out all the sites around Canmore and Banff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    275
    43
    16
    15
See reviews for
325
633
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

There was a Groupon available for this hotel so I decided to book it. We usually stay in one of the other places (Grande Rockies or Stoneridge) along this strip and thought this place would be a nice change given the price.

The room is a nice size but there were some items that seemed out of date. The TVs were old style and although we didn't watch TV it dates the room and it seems like a small thing that could be remedied easily.

The kitchette and BBQ were great and we cooked ourselves a nice meal on the second night.

The bed was tiny. I do not believe it was a Queen but instead a double. Accordingly, my partner and I did not sleep very well on either night. Also the train is noisy. I have never had issues sleeping in the other places I have stayed along this strip, maybe their rooms are set further back from the train but the train kept me awake.

All and all it was an ok stay. I think we'd only likely stay again if we could be guarenteed a queen or king bed and if we could have a room that was set back a little.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I were taking a weekend away and stayed at Falcon Crest. We had a great stay. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were given good tips upon arriving and checking out. The beds were more comfortable then most hotel beds and the bed linens were crisp and clean. The room itself was quite clean, but could have used a better vacuuming as we came across some kids tiny plastic toys. It was quiet were and in a great location. Although we did not use the hot tub/pool it looked nice. I liked that it had kitchen facilities too. I will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberleycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

After reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, my wife and I decided to choose this hotel for our 2 day 3 night stay in the course of a long road trip. We booked an entry level "deluxe room" (there are no standard rooms) which comprised a small kitchenette, 2 double (not queen) beds, an old style TV (not flat screen), a small balcony with a barbecue and a bathroom.

On reading the guest guide, we found an inventory of kitchen items and, on checking, discovered that a number of items (can opener, cutting board and later a kitchen knife) were missing. These were reported and promptly replaced (we didn't bother about the knife) with the comment that "these items move around the hotel a bit".

On day 2, we returned to the room about 8pm to find that, whilst the towels had been changed, the beds had not been made. We told reception but also said that, given the late hour, not to bother about the beds (we're not sure there would have been anyone around to do it!). We then found that the tea towel and dishcloth had been removed and not replaced. We are not sure if the room at been cleaned but we guess not.

On checking out, we spent some time completing the guest comment form from the room outlining our experience and giving our contacts and we left this at reception. Since then we have had zero response. However, we have received a standard email from Cory Haggar, the General Manager, inviting us to post our comments on TripAdvisor "as part of our efforts to provide our guests with the best possible experience". Cory also says that he welcomes our comments and suggestions and invites us to "contact him personally with any feedback that will contribute to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests". Well, our advice to Cory here is that, if Reception receives a Guest Feedback Form such as we provided, he should contact us and promptly. If this form was not passed to him, then there is a system problem.

We travel a reasonable amount and we have found that a lot of hotels don't understand that the small things are so important because these are what the guests remember. Guests don't remember the view, the iced water at reception or the heated outdoor tub if they don't use it. But they do remember the little negatives. It is very very important that the hotel systems (by extension management) ensure these don't arise in the first place. Management can't rely on guests to do its job!!

Ok: PROS: Excellent reception staff, great mountain views (but not from our particular ground floor room), clean, people using outdoor hot tubs clearly enjoyed the experience, good free WIFI.
CONS: Systems (by extension management) need improvement, TV needs replacement (flat screens are cheap), breakfast options are the kitchenette or head downtown, noise from passing trains on the southern side (didn't bother us much), untidy guest laundry - full bin etc (this may have been a timing issue).

In the course of our Vegas-Jasper-Seattle roadtrip, we have stayed at quite a number of budget chain hotels and our general experience is that these provide good value for money and everything seems to work. We have also stayed at Wynns in Vegas and, whilst it is a fantastic 5 star hotel, it also has some deficiencies in the "small things" area.

Maybe we're just getting old and grumpy!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Falcon Crest Lodge experience.

We are also so glad that you filled out a comment card and thank you for your patience. We do our best to respond to all guests within 3 business days; however, I will be happy to follow up on your concerns by contacting you immediately.

We do take the time to review all guest comments and greatly value your feedback. I am glad that our front desk staff was quick to respond and replenish the items in your suite, and I look forward to speaking you to ensure 100% satsifaction.

A few notes and tips for travellers:

-Falcon Crest Lodge guests will be happy to know that we are upgrading to flatscreen televisions in all guest suites, coming this summer 2012!

-For guests looking for extra space, our One Bedroom Suites with private bedroom, full kitchen, and ensuite washer/dryer, are twice the size of our Deluxe Suites--an excellent value, especially compared to our Deluxe room, which is more of a hotel-style unit.

-We are happy to make note of guest requests such as a higher floor. We also have a premium mountainview enhancement option for our Deluxe, One Bedroom, and Two Bedroom Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Very tidy and clean. In room fire place. BBQ on balcony. Gym and spa. Kitchenet. Free in house DVD rental. Over all a very nice place which is a cut above any normal hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were thrilled with the Falcon Crest Lodge! I've never experienced such great customer service at a hotel before! The staff was phenomenal! The room was beautiful! We had such a great weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I just stayed for a weekend at this hotel and I must say I was very impressed. The reception girls were always very friendly, helpfull with not only hotel things but with directions and recomendations. The place was very clean and the room was amazing. a mini apartment with a great kitchen, big bathroom with washer/dryer as well and even a BBQ on the balcony. 2 hot tubs that I will add one is too close to the parking lot but both very nice. A small excercise room with a great view. We did have a little issue getting our room cleaned but as soon as we mentioned it to recpetion they sent someone to take care of it.

Obviously I would really recommend this place to anyone although the price is a bit on the high side but do get top quality. I stayed here using a groupon so my price was very good but if I can I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-normalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Crest Lodge

Property: Falcon Crest Lodge
Address: 190 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#1 Family Hotel in Canmore
#2 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falcon Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are searching for luxurious mountain accommodations located within minutes of Banff National Park, the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore offers the perfect setting for your next Rocky Mountain Retreat. Your mountain adventures begin at the Falcon Crest Lodge. Only a five minute drive to Banff National Park, the hotel is also just a short walk from downtown Canmore. Indulge with our hotel features and amenities including granite countertops, fluffy duvet comforters, pillow top mattresses and unparalleled service when you stay at Canmore’s finest hotel. Stay at the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore, Alberta and understand why our guests say we are “Soaring to New Heights in Hospitality” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Falcon Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Crest Hotel Canmore
Falcon Crest Canmore
Falcon Crest Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing